A hospital in Blackwood, NJ. It ran an operating surplus of 1.3% in FY24 on $88.1M of operating revenue. It held 4 days of cash on hand (62nd percentile of 422 Psychiatric hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). 5 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.
Operating margin · FY24
+1.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals42nd pctl of 437 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
4d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals62nd pctl of 422 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$88.1M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals95th pctl of 509 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+2.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals34th pctl of 434 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at NORTHBROOK BEHAVIORAL HEALTH HOSPITAL is about $881K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where NORTHBROOK BEHAVIORAL HEALTH sits among Psychiatric hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 437 of 601 filed
Each point is one Psychiatric hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Psychiatric hospital FY24 median is +4.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One psychiatric hospitalNORTHBROOK BEHAVIORALPsychiatric hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
41,716
44,857
48,023
Other operating revenue
34,892
35,169
40,034
Total operating revenue
76,608
80,027
88,057
Total operating expenses
83,003
81,292
86,892
Operating income
(6,395)
(1,265)
1,165
Operating margin %
-8.3%
-1.6%
+1.3%
Grants & contributions
—
90
—
Investment income
35
—
145
Other non-operating, net
3,467
859
438
Net income
(2,893)
(316)
1,748
Net income %
-3.6%
-0.4%
+2.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 158-bed psychiatric hospital running at 94% occupancy, where the average stay runs 27.9 days, and operating cost runs $1,601 per patient day.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
93.8%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
148.65
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
158
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
1,944
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
28 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$1,601
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$44,698
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Total FTEs
607.60
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
15.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
CAMDEN County, NJ · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$102.8K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
7.6%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
4.2%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
16.5%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
14.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Not designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 17.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Camden County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$86.9M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$46.0M
$38.6M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$199.9M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.5%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 437.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 437 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 13 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.