Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Chicago, IL

ADVOCATE ILLINOIS MASONIC MEDICAL CENTER

CCN 140182COOK CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateUrban (USDA RUCC)145 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Chicago, IL. It ran an operating surplus of 15.7% in FY24 on $869.9M of operating revenue. It held 11,611 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool (100th percentile of 2,490 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from 14.7% in FY20 to 15.7% in FY24, though it fell 7.6 points in the most recent year.

Operating margin · FY24
+15.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
7.6 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals83rd pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
11,611d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
4056 days vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals100th pctl of 2,490 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$869.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$27.3M vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals87th pctl of 2,608 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+21.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
1.6 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals89th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at ADVOCATE ILLINOIS MASONIC MEDICAL CENTER is about $8.7M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where ADVOCATE ILLINOIS MASONIC sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 2,563 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY24 median is +2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +2.0%ADVOCATE ILLINOIS +15.7%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +2.0%ADVOCATE ILLINOIS +15.7%
One urban pps hospitalADVOCATE ILLINOISUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+15.7% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+21.7% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
11611d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.06× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
48% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
863d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue713,227786,172865,964
Other operating revenue15,96056,4073,895
Total operating revenue729,187842,579869,859
Total operating expenses581,266646,301733,235
Operating income147,921196,278136,624
Operating margin %+20.3%+23.3%+15.7%
Grants & contributions5,536
Other non-operating, net0061,374
Net income147,921196,278203,534
Net income %+20.3%+23.3%+21.7%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY24 · Days cash on hand: 11,611 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY23 · Days cash on hand: 7,554 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY22 · Days cash on hand: 7,532 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY21 · Days cash on hand: 9,587 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY20 · Days cash on hand: 8,884 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 145-bed hospital running at 49% occupancy, where 69% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
48.8%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
65.51
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
145
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
11,383
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
2 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$30,664
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$64,415
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
68.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
2,176
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
19.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$38.4M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.366
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
16.2%
Worse Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.01
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
1.42102
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+14.7%+17.6%+20.3%+23.3%+15.7%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
8,884 days9,587 days7,532 days7,554 days11,611 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
FY24 days cash on hand is an Astrelis calculation outside expected range: charted at the boundary arrow, shown at its actual value in the tiles, and included in peer statistics.

The county this hospital serves

COOK County, IL · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$81.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.3%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.0%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
15.5%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.2% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Cook County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$733.2M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$224.4M
$188.6M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$1.69B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.1%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

15.7% operating margin — 83th percentile of 2,563 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 7.6 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

13.7 points above the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $119.2M more operating income than the median rate.

(15.7% facility vs 2.0% peer median) = 13.7 points above the median × $869.9M revenue ≈ $119.2M more operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 2,563.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 2,563 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc