Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Chicago, IL

JOHN H STROGER JR HOSPITAL

CCN 140124COOK CountyGovernment - LocalUrban (USDA RUCC)295 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY23. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY23. Days cash on hand is FY24, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospital in Chicago, IL. It ran an operating loss of 74.1% in FY23 on $486.6M of operating revenue. It held 505 days of cash on hand in FY24, its most recent reported liquidity (96th percentile of 2,490 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from -19.5% in FY20 to -74.1% in FY23. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 30.0%.

Operating margin · FY23
-74.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
51.7 pts vs FY22
vs Urban PPS hospitals1st pctl of 2,560 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
505d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
40 days vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals96th pctl of 2,490 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$486.6M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$182.3M vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals71st pctl of 2,608 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY23
+30.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
8.0 pts vs FY22
vs Urban PPS hospitals96th pctl of 2,564 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at JOHN H STROGER JR HOSPITAL is about $4.9M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where JOHN H STROGER sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 2,560 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY23 median is +0.4%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +0.4%JOHN H -74.1%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +0.4%JOHN H -74.1%
One urban pps hospitalJOHN HUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-74.1% (FY23)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+30.0% (FY23)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
505d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
10.05× (FY23)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
90% (FY23)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
527d (FY23) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue945,293669,113485,254
Other operating revenue(201)1,322
Total operating revenue945,293668,911486,576
Total operating expenses1,156,7481,164,4641,300,842
Operating income(211,456)(495,553)(814,265)
Operating margin %-22.4%-74.1%
Grants & contributions(22)
Investment income1195781,136
Other non-operating, net537,317993,514896,327
Net income325,980498,51783,198
Net income %+22.0%+30.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY24 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -815,587K · Net patient revenue 485,254KFY22 · Net patient A/R: -53,533K Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -53533.5K (gross HOSP10_2022_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 33733.6K + L00600 1907776.9K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY21 · Net patient A/R: -77,124K Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -77123.9K (gross HOSP10_2021_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 102913.4K + L00600 1924224.5K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 295-bed hospital running at 66% occupancy, where 62% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
66.4%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
195.93
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
295
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
15,073
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
5 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$18,190
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$86,303
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
61.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
4,056
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
26.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$229.1M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.491
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
0.98
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.906898
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-19.5%-33.1%-22.4%-74.1%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
101 days176 days336 days465 days505 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

COOK County, IL · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$81.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.3%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.0%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
15.5%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.2% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Cook County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$1.30B
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$615.6M
$517.3M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$2.99B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.2%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation

-74.1% operating margin — 1th percentile of 2,560 peers (FY23 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 51.7 points vs FY22 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

74.5 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $362.5M less operating income than the median rate.

(-74.1% facility vs 0.4% peer median) = 74.5 points below the median × $486.6M revenue ≈ $362.5M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 2,560.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY23 peer pool · n = 2,560 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc