Operating margin: -51.6% in FY2025, the 17th percentile of 30 rural emergency hospitals in the FY2025 pool. Days cash on hand: 0 days in FY2025, the 13th percentile of 31 rural emergency hospitals in the FY2025 pool. Total operating revenue: $5.3M in FY2025, the 19th percentile of 32 rural emergency hospitals in the FY2025 pool. Total margin (including nonoperating): -51.1% in FY2025, the 3rd percentile of 30 rural emergency hospitals in the FY2025 pool. Figures as filed; not audited by Astrelis.
The read
A hospital in Union Springs, AL. It ran an operating loss of 51.6% in FY25 on $5.3M of operating revenue. It held 0 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool (13th percentile of 31 Rural Emergency Hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from -16.2% in FY24 to -51.6% in FY25.
Operating margin · FY25
-51.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural Emergency Hospitals17th pctl of 30 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural Emergency Hospitals13th pctl of 31 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$5.3M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural Emergency Hospitals19th pctl of 32 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-51.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural Emergency Hospitals3rd pctl of 30 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at BULLOCK COUNTY HOSPITAL is about $53K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
Where BULLOCK COUNTY HOSPITAL sits among Rural Emergency Hospitals
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 30 of 39 filed
Each point is one Rural Emergency Hospital in the national FY25 distribution for Rural Emergency Hospitals, this hospital's comparison cohort, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural Emergency Hospital FY25 median is -7.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One rural emergency hospitalBULLOCK COUNTYRural Emergency Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Display states.FY24 · Days cash on hand: -2 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and not in peer statistics (this year is not comparison-eligible) (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; this year enters no peer pool)FY25 · Days cash on hand: 0 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
Rural Emergency Hospital continuity. This REH converted from BULLOCK COUNTY HOSPITAL — the predecessor's full filed history stays published on its own page, benchmarked in its own contemporaneous peer years. Post-conversion, an REH runs emergency and outpatient services without inpatient beds by design; the outpatient economics below are the model working, not a shrinking acute hospital. Services retained at conversion appear in the quality block where CMS reports them.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: CMS does not publish these measures for this provider subtype (it does not participate in the acute-care IQR/OQR reporting programs, which do not apply here).
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 2 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
State context
Union Springs, AL
Located in Union Springs, AL. County-level statistics: linkage not established — this record's county mapping is not verified in the resolved spine, and we never place a facility in a county by guesswork. State-level context appears here once a state aggregate layer lands.
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to its county
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$9.3M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$21.5M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Converted from Rural PPS hospital CCN 010110 (BULLOCK COUNTY HOSPITAL).
Conversion timeline. Rural PPS hospital CCN 010110 filed through FY24 → Rural Emergency Hospital CCN 010779 filing from FY24. The predecessor's full history stays published on its own page, benchmarked in its own contemporaneous peer years.
The Board Briefing
What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 30 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 4 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.
Astrelis Atlas, "Bullock County Hospital", https://astrelis.co/hospitals/010779, release 2321a4fc37a7 (2026-10-22). Figures as filed in the named public sources; not audited by Astrelis.
Machine-readable twin of this page: astrelis.co/hospitals/010779.md (Markdown, the same figures with their fiscal years, pools and definitions). Last modified: release 2321a4fc37a7, 2026-10-22. Figures are as filed in the named public sources. Astrelis is not a CPA firm and performs no audit, review or attestation of any facility.