CCN 230779ST. JOSEPH CountyGovernment - LocalRural (USDA RUCC)Latest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY23. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY23. Days cash on hand is FY24, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read
A hospital in Sturgis, MI. It ran an operating loss of 53.2% in FY23 on $11.6M of operating revenue. It held -400 days of cash on hand in FY24, its most recent reported liquidity — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool (0th percentile of 29 Rural Emergency Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Only a single comparable reporting year is available, so trend context is limited.
Operating margin · FY23
-53.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY23)
Days cash on hand · FY24
-400d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural Emergency Hospitals0th pctl of 29 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$11.6M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural Emergency Hospitals76th pctl of 29 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY23
-51.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY23)
One point of operating margin at STURGIS HOSPITAL is about $116K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Display states.FY24 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -11,694K · Net patient revenue 11,474KFY24 · Days cash on hand: -400 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY23 · Net patient A/R: 6,635K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = 6635.0K (gross HOSP10_2023_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 0.0K + L00600 1653.8K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld.)FY23 · Days cash on hand: -1,416 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A Rural Emergency Hospital (no inpatient beds by design), where 100% of patient revenue is outpatient — the post-conversion model working as designed.
Rural Emergency Hospital continuity. An REH runs emergency and outpatient services without inpatient beds by design; the outpatient economics below are the model working, not a shrinking acute hospital. No predecessor CCN cross-references this record in the public termination file — linkage not established.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Outpatient share of patient revenue
100.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
115.60
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
24.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: CMS does not publish these measures for this provider subtype (it does not participate in the acute-care IQR/OQR reporting programs, which do not apply here).
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 2 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
FY24 days cash on hand is an Astrelis calculation outside expected range: charted at the boundary arrow, shown at its actual value in the tiles, and included in peer statistics.
The county this hospital serves
ST. JOSEPH County, MI · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$64.7K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
12.0%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
9.6%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
18.5%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
21.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 25.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to St. Joseph County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$23.2M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$9.4M
$7.9M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$53.3M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.6%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 7 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.