Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (other - provider status change). Continued as Rural Emergency Hospital CCN 010779 — see the current profile. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read
A hospital in Union Springs, AL. It ran an operating loss of 76.0% in FY24 on $4.2M of operating revenue. It held 9 days of cash on hand (35th percentile of 386 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). 4 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.
Operating margin · FY24
-76.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals0th pctl of 387 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
9d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals35th pctl of 386 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$4.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals1st pctl of 393 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-75.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals0th pctl of 387 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at BULLOCK COUNTY HOSPITAL is about $42K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where BULLOCK COUNTY HOSPITAL sits among Rural PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 387 of 410 filed
Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY24 median is -0.9%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One rural pps hospitalBULLOCK COUNTYRural PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
-5d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
13,913
23,611
4,233
Other operating revenue
278
262
1
Total operating revenue
14,191
23,873
4,234
Total operating expenses
17,304
28,218
7,451
Operating income
(3,113)
(4,346)
(3,217)
Operating margin %
-21.9%
-18.2%
-76.0%
Grants & contributions
—
115
—
Investment income
2,002
34
2
Other non-operating, net
2,001
285
10
Net income
890
(3,912)
(3,205)
Net income %
+4.9%
-16.1%
-75.5%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY24 · Net patient A/R: -59K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -59.4K (gross HOSP10_2024_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 1291.9K + L00600 14463.8K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY21 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -7,356K · Net patient revenue 6,687K
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 17-bed hospital, where 55% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Staffed beds (acute)
17
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Outpatient share of patient revenue
54.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
44
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
14.2%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$0.6M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are not available for this reporting period.Note 2: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
BULLOCK County, AL · nonmetro, rural, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$36.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
25.7%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
12.9%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
17.9%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
37.8%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 14.1% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 36.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Bullock County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$7.5M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$2.8M
$2.4M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$17.1M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
1.6%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 387.
Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 9 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
The record's final filed years, benchmarked against the peer pools of their own era and labeled so on every exhibit.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.