Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Nocona, TX

NOCONA GENERAL HOSPITAL

CCN 450641MONTAGUE CountyGovernment - Hospital District or Authority18 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY25. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY25. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY24, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospital in Nocona, TX. It ran an operating loss of 23.1% in FY25 on $10.9M of operating revenue. It held 57 days of cash on hand (62nd percentile of 1,446 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin improved from -27.5% in FY21 to -23.1% in FY25. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 32.1%.

Operating margin · FY25
-23.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
15.1 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals9th pctl of 1,475 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
57d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
293 days vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals62nd pctl of 1,446 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$10.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.8M vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals1st pctl of 1,503 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+32.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
13.7 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals96th pctl of 1,476 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at NOCONA GENERAL HOSPITAL is about $109K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where NOCONA GENERAL HOSPITAL sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 1,475 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY25 median is +1.3%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%NOCONA GENERAL -23.1%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%NOCONA GENERAL -23.1%
One urban pps hospitalNOCONA GENERALUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-23.1% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+32.1% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
57d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
15.38× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
97% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
60d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue8,22810,06210,895
Other operating revenue151923
Total operating revenue8,24310,08110,918
Total operating expenses12,50113,93513,444
Operating income(4,258)(3,854)(2,527)
Operating margin %-51.7%-38.2%-23.1%
Grants & contributions1211465
Investment income18814475
Other non-operating, net9,3366,1757,955
Net income5,1083,1466,368
Net income %+29.0%+18.4%+32.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 18-bed hospital running at 20% occupancy, where 82% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
20.1%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
3.62
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
18
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
345
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$10,193
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$38,969
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
82.1%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
108.60
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.9%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.22
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.Note 2: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-27.5%-25.3%-51.7%-38.2%-23.1%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
225 days332 days502 days350 days57 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

MONTAGUE County, TX
Median household income
$62.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.5%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
16.1%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
21.8%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
22.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 18.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 35.0% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Montague County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$13.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$7.1M
$6.0M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$30.9M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
2.2%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

-23.1% operating margin — 9th percentile of 1,475 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 15.1 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

24.4 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $2.7M less operating income than the median rate.

(-23.1% facility vs 1.3% peer median) = 24.4 points below the median × $10.9M revenue ≈ $2.7M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 1,475.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 1,475 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 13 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc