Astrelis
Rural PPS hospital · Transfer, PA

EDGEWOOD SURGICAL HOSPITAL

CCN 390307MERCER CountyPhysicianRural (USDA RUCC)10 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Transfer, PA. It ran an operating surplus of 24.5% in FY24 on $23.9M of operating revenue. It held 12 days of cash on hand (38th percentile of 386 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -1.6% in FY20 to 24.5% in FY24.

Operating margin · FY24
+24.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals95th pctl of 387 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
12d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals38th pctl of 386 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$23.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals10th pctl of 393 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+25.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals97th pctl of 387 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at EDGEWOOD SURGICAL HOSPITAL is about $239K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where EDGEWOOD SURGICAL HOSPITAL sits among Rural PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 387 of 410 filed

Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY24 median is -0.9%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -0.9%EDGEWOOD SURGICAL +24.5%-20%0%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -0.9%EDGEWOOD SURGICAL +24.5%
One rural pps hospitalEDGEWOOD SURGICALRural PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+24.5% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+25.9% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
12d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.53× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
19% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
24d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue19,83122,78423,529
Other operating revenue128311326
Total operating revenue19,95923,09623,855
Total operating expenses16,54017,95718,017
Operating income3,4195,1395,838
Operating margin %+17.1%+22.3%+24.5%
Investment income52173244
Other non-operating, net510215217
Net income3,9815,5276,299
Net income %+19.4%+23.5%+25.9%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 10-bed hospital running at 3% occupancy, where 93% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
3.3%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
0.33
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
10
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
78
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
2 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$147,677
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$230,982
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
93.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
38.20
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
15.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$0.0M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.984052
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.Note 2: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-1.6%+25.5%+17.1%+22.3%+24.5%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
120 days129 days19 days22 days12 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

MERCER County, PA · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$60.6K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
12.8%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.0%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
22.7%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
Not available
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 15.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 31.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Mercer County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$18.0M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$3.7M
$3.1M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$41.4M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.1%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

24.5% operating margin — 95th percentile of 387 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

25.4 points above the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $6.1M more operating income than the median rate.

(24.5% facility vs -0.9% peer median) = 25.4 points above the median × $23.9M revenue ≈ $6.1M more operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 387.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 387 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Rural PPS Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc