A hospital in Warren, OH. It ran an operating loss of 10.6% in FY23 on $127.8M of operating revenue. It held 31 days of cash on hand (56th percentile of 2,485 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY23 pool). Operating margin improved from -13.9% in FY20 to -10.6% in FY23, though it fell 13.5 points in the most recent year.
Operating margin · FY23
-10.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals21st pctl of 2,560 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY23
31d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals56th pctl of 2,485 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY23
$127.8M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals29th pctl of 2,598 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY23
-1.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals28th pctl of 2,564 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at INSIGHT HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL CENTER TRUMBULL is about $1.3M per year (1% of FY23 total operating revenue).
Where INSIGHT HOSPITAL AND sits among Urban PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 2,560 of 2,643 filed
Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY23 median is +0.4%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One urban pps hospitalINSIGHT HOSPITALUrban PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY21
FY22
FY23
Patient revenue
137,891
143,929
127,086
Other operating revenue
677
2,123
746
Total operating revenue
138,568
146,052
127,832
Total operating expenses
153,262
141,935
141,431
Operating income
(14,694)
4,117
(13,599)
Operating margin %
-10.6%
+2.8%
-10.6%
Investment income
6
22
26
Other non-operating, net
7,687
8,673
11,328
Net income
(7,001)
12,812
(2,245)
Net income %
-4.8%
+8.3%
-1.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY23 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 167-bed hospital running at 42% occupancy, where 47% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
41.7%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
69.86
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
167
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
6,010
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$5,562
Astrelis calculation2023
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$23,533
Astrelis calculation2023
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
47.3%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
750.60
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
19.4%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$8.9M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.7%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.04
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.840453
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are based on a shorter time period than required.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 4 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
TRUMBULL County, OH · metro, 250K–1M
Median household income
$55.1K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
16.8%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.9%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
22.0%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
22.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 14.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 30.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Trumbull County
Illustrative estimate · FY23 cost report
Direct annual spending
$141.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Employment
1,006
751 direct jobs (reported FTEs) × 1.34 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Labor income
$55.6M
$46.7M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$325.3M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
1.1%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 2,560.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY23 peer pool · n = 2,560 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.