A hospital in Columbus, GA. It ran an operating loss of 6.9% in FY24 on $316.2M of operating revenue. It held 1 day of cash on hand (32nd percentile of 2,490 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -12.8% in FY20 to -6.9% in FY24, though it fell 17.3 points in the most recent year.
Operating margin · FY24
-6.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 17.3 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals25th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
1d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 6 days vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals32nd pctl of 2,490 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$316.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ $56.5M vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals56th pctl of 2,608 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-5.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 16.5 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals15th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at ST FRANCIS HOSPITAL- EMORY HEALTHCARE is about $3.2M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where ST FRANCIS HOSPITAL- sits among Urban PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 2,563 of 2,643 filed
Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY24 median is +2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One urban pps hospitalST FRANCISUrban PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
252,557
360,804
301,358
Other operating revenue
7,160
11,887
14,868
Total operating revenue
259,717
372,692
316,226
Total operating expenses
292,701
333,748
337,901
Operating income
(32,983)
38,943
(21,674)
Operating margin %
-12.7%
+10.4%
-6.9%
Other non-operating, net
4,536
838
2,986
Net income
(28,447)
39,781
(18,688)
Net income %
-10.8%
+10.6%
-5.9%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 249-bed hospital running at 53% occupancy, where 48% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
53.2%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
132.93
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
249
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
11,972
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$6,964
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$28,224
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
47.9%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
1,576
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
15.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$16.3M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.105
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
14.6%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
1.045654
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
MUSCOGEE County, GA · metro, 250K–1M
Median household income
$56.6K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
18.8%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
11.3%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
14.4%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
23.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 9.4% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 26.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Muscogee County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$337.9M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$158.3M
$133.0M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$777.2M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
1.8%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 2,563.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 2,563 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.