A hospital in Fountain Valley, CA. It ran an operating surplus of 3.7% in FY25 on $533.9M of operating revenue. It held 3 days of cash on hand (38th percentile of 1,446 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin improved from -5.7% in FY21 to 3.7% in FY25.
Operating margin · FY25
+3.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▬ 0.0 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals57th pctl of 1,475 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
3d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 0 days vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals38th pctl of 1,446 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$533.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $17.4M vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals72nd pctl of 1,503 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+5.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 0.3 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals48th pctl of 1,476 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at MEMORIALCARE ORANGE COAST MEDICAL CENTER is about $5.3M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
Where MEMORIALCARE ORANGE COAST sits among Urban PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 1,475 of 2,643 filed
Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY25 median is +1.3%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One urban pps hospitalMEMORIALCARE ORANGEUrban PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
-116d (FY25) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
346,992
420,893
471,381
Other operating revenue
79,715
95,622
62,503
Total operating revenue
426,707
516,515
533,884
Total operating expenses
438,660
497,267
514,192
Operating income
(11,953)
19,248
19,692
Operating margin %
-2.8%
+3.7%
+3.7%
Grants & contributions
702
717
1,089
Investment income
261
312
394
Other non-operating, net
23,926
11,349
9,705
Net income
12,936
31,626
30,880
Net income %
+2.9%
+6.0%
+5.7%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY25 · Net patient A/R: -150,363K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -150363.3K (gross HOSP10_2024_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 219040.8K + L00600 351500.5K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY24 · Net patient A/R: -87,133K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -87133.2K (gross HOSP10_2023_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 165025.0K + L00600 442171.4K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY23 · Net patient A/R: -96,790K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -96790.2K (gross HOSP10_2022_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 147781.8K + L00600 255274.7K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 188-bed hospital running at 58% occupancy, where 50% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
58.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
109.26
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
188
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
11,787
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$12,929
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$43,624
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
49.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
1,459
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
19.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.397
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
14.8%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.05
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
1.033959
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
ORANGE County, CA
Median household income
$113.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
9.5%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.8%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
15.8%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
19.9%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 5.0% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 12.1% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Orange County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$514.2M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$202.5M
$170.2M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$1.18B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.1%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 1,475.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 1,475 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.