CCN 451307Government - Hospital District or Authority14 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY23. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY23. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY24, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Days cash on hand is FY24, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read
A hospital in Iraan, TX. It ran an operating loss of 95.2% in FY23 on $4.6M of operating revenue. It held 913 days of cash on hand in FY24, its most recent reported liquidity (99th percentile of 1,325 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -96.7% in FY20 to -95.2% in FY23, though it fell 35.5 points in the most recent year. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 11.4%.
Operating margin · FY23
-95.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals0th pctl of 1,330 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
913d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals99th pctl of 1,325 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$4.6M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals1st pctl of 1,356 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY23
+11.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals79th pctl of 1,331 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at IRAAN GENERAL HOSPITAL is about $46K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where IRAAN GENERAL HOSPITAL sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 1,330 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY23 median is -3.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalIRAAN GENERALCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
417d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
-6.9% (FY24)
38th percentile of 21 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+11.6% (FY24)
14th percentile of 21 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
5,212
4,447
4,598
Other operating revenue
30
32
31
Total operating revenue
5,242
4,479
4,629
Total operating expenses
8,369
8,741
9,881
Operating income
(3,126)
(4,262)
(5,252)
Operating margin %
-59.6%
-95.2%
—
Grants & contributions
0
0
0
Investment income
313
995
1,413
Other non-operating, net
5,782
4,397
5,416
Net income
2,969
1,130
1,577
Net income %
+25.8%
+11.4%
—
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY24 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -5,283K · Net patient revenue 4,598KFY21 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -5,168K · Net patient revenue 3,001K
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 14-bed hospital running at 1% occupancy, where swing beds are 78% of the inpatient business, and 90% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
1.2%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
0.16
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
14
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
16
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$167,480
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$617,581
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
0.57
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
78.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
90.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$1.4M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are not available for this reporting period.Note 2: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.
Commercial negotiated rates as a percent of Medicare rates, outpatient basket. Chart bound 300%; values beyond it are clipped at the bar edge and shown at their actual figure.
Hospital price files + Medicare rates
Directional indicator from public price files. Facility-specific rate positioning is the Commercial Pricing Study →
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
PECOS County, TX
Median household income
$67.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
27.4%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
14.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
13.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
30.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 13.9% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 25.5% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Pecos County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$9.9M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$22.7M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs
-6.9% — 38th percentile of 21 matched CAH peers (FY24).
The Board Briefing
What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.
CAH Performance Benchmark: FY23 peer pool · n = 1,330 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Basis: 60 services in the basket · 5 classified commercial payers (100% of commercial volume classified) · pricing files captured 2026-07-19 · numerator: negotiated commercial allowed amounts (classified payers) · denominator: Medicare OPPS-equivalent for the same services · weighting: volume-weighted line-level outpatient service basket (CY2026 OPPS equivalent) (weight coverage 79%).
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.