Astrelis
Psychiatric hospital · West Chester, PA

HAVEN BEHAVIORAL HOSPITAL OF WEST CHESTER

CCN 394062Chester CountyProprietary46 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in West Chester, PA. It ran an operating loss of 71.3% in FY24 on $7.9M of operating revenue. Days cash on hand is an Astrelis calculation unavailable for its latest year (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year). Only a single comparable reporting year is available, so trend context is limited.

Operating margin · FY24
-71.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals3rd pctl of 437 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand
Astrelis calculation unavailable
all sources
Total operating revenue · FY24
$7.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals16th pctl of 509 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-71.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals1st pctl of 434 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at HAVEN BEHAVIORAL HOSPITAL OF WEST CHESTER is about $79K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where HAVEN BEHAVIORAL HOSPITAL sits among Psychiatric hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 437 of 601 filed

Each point is one Psychiatric hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Psychiatric hospital FY24 median is +4.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Psychiatric hospital median +4.8%HAVEN BEHAVIORAL -71.3%-20%0%+20%Psychiatric hospital median +4.8%HAVEN BEHAVIORAL -71.3%
One psychiatric hospitalHAVEN BEHAVIORALPsychiatric hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-71.3% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-71.3% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
Not reported in source
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
2.45× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
-30% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
193d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY24
Patient revenue7,933
Other operating revenue3
Total operating revenue7,936
Total operating expenses13,596
Operating income(5,660)
Operating margin %-71.3%
Net income(5,660)
Net income %-71.3%
1 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY24
Display states. FY24 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 46-bed psychiatric hospital running at 86% occupancy, where the average stay runs 12.4 days, and operating cost runs $1,774 per patient day.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
85.8%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
30.78
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
46
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
620
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
12 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$1,774
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$21,929
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · single reporting year
Operating margin
-71.3%FY24
Days cash on hand
Not available

The county this hospital serves

Chester County, PA
Median household income
$123.0K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
5.9%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
4.4%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
17.3%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
Not available
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 4.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 10.1% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Chester County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$13.6M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$31.3M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-71.3% operating margin — 3th percentile of 437 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

76.1 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $6.0M less operating income than the median rate.

(-71.3% facility vs 4.8% peer median) = 76.1 points below the median × $7.9M revenue ≈ $6.0M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 437.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 437 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 10 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc