A hospital in La Grange, IL. It ran an operating loss of 4.8% in FY24 on $221.8M of operating revenue. It held 72 days of cash on hand (68th percentile of 2,490 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -5.5% in FY20 to -4.8% in FY24, though it fell 2.4 points in the most recent year.
Operating margin · FY24
-4.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals30th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
72d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals68th pctl of 2,490 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$221.8M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals44th pctl of 2,608 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-3.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals18th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at UCHICAGO MEDICINE ADVENTHEALTH LA GRANGE is about $2.2M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where UCHICAGO MEDICINE ADVENTHEALTH sits among Urban PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 2,563 of 2,643 filed
Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY24 median is +2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One urban pps hospitalUCHICAGO MEDICINEUrban PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
186,028
208,696
211,802
Other operating revenue
3,314
6,356
10,037
Total operating revenue
189,341
215,051
221,839
Total operating expenses
201,525
220,198
232,539
Operating income
(12,184)
(5,146)
(10,701)
Operating margin %
-6.4%
-2.4%
-4.8%
Investment income
—
725
1,387
Other non-operating, net
(1,344)
660
784
Net income
(13,528)
(3,761)
(8,530)
Net income %
-7.1%
-1.7%
-3.8%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY22 · Net patient A/R: 22,098K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = 22098.0K (gross HOSP10_2022_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 719.7K + L00600 3626.6K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY22 · Days cash on hand: -46 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY20 · Days cash on hand: -32 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 141-bed hospital running at 54% occupancy, where 62% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
54.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
76.48
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
141
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
7,465
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$8,331
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$31,151
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
61.8%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
810.20
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
17.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$26.7M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.922
No Different than National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.07
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
1.002102
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
COOK County, IL
Median household income
$81.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.3%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.0%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
15.5%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.2% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Cook County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$232.5M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$82.3M
$69.1M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$534.8M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.0%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 2,563.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 2,563 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.