Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Branford, CT

THE CONNECTICUT HOSPICE INC.

CCN 070038Voluntary non-profit - Private3 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Branford, CT. It ran an operating loss of 25.9% in FY25 on $17.3M of operating revenue. It held 126 days of cash on hand (75th percentile of 1,446 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from -3.0% in FY20 to -25.9% in FY25.

Operating margin · FY25
-25.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
11.5 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals7th pctl of 1,475 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
126d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
84 days vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals75th pctl of 1,446 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$17.3M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.5M vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals3rd pctl of 1,503 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-17.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
17.4 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals5th pctl of 1,476 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at THE CONNECTICUT HOSPICE INC. is about $173K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where THE CONNECTICUT HOSPICE sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 1,475 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY25 median is +1.3%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%THE CONNECTICUT -25.9%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%THE CONNECTICUT -25.9%
One urban pps hospitalTHE CONNECTICUTUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-25.9% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-17.2% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
126d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
2.25× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
79% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
50d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue16,71216,55416,664
Other operating revenue3601,217588
Total operating revenue17,07217,77217,251
Total operating expenses20,37720,33221,724
Operating income(3,305)(2,560)(4,473)
Operating margin %-19.4%-14.4%-25.9%
Grants & contributions1,1142,4041,014
Investment income210279
Other non-operating, net1900
Net income(2,172)54(3,180)
Net income %-11.9%+0.3%-17.2%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 3-bed hospital running at 25% occupancy, where 68% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
24.6%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
0.74
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
3
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
44
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
6 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$80,758
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$493,727
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
68.3%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
119.60
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
17.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 3)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 4)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.Note 2: No cases met the criteria for this measure.Note 3: Results are not available for this reporting period.Note 4: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
-3.0%-23.4%-3.6%-19.4%-14.4%-25.9%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
109 days87 days164 days204 days210 days126 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

NEW HAVEN County, CT
Median household income
Not available
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
Not available
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
Not available
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
Not available
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
Not available
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Not designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 20.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to New Haven County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$21.7M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$11.9M
$10.0M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$50.0M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

-25.9% operating margin — 7th percentile of 1,475 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 11.5 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

27.2 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $4.7M less operating income than the median rate.

(-25.9% facility vs 1.3% peer median) = 27.2 points below the median × $17.3M revenue ≈ $4.7M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 1,475.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 1,475 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc