Astrelis
Hospice · Fort Madison, IA

LEE COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT

CCN 161517Lee CountyLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY25. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY25. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospice in Fort Madison, IA. It ran an operating loss of 837.7% in FY25 on $0.5M of operating revenue. Operating margin declined from -422.2% in FY21 to -837.7% in FY25. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 57.0%. It carries an average daily census of 8.

Average daily census
8
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY25
-837.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
616.2 pts vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total days of care
2,371 days
Reported value2025
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-837.7% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+57.0% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
Not reported in source
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Not reported in source
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Not reported in source
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Not reported in source
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY24
Patient revenue620
Total operating revenue620
Total operating expenses1,993
Operating income(1,373)
Operating margin %-221.4%
Other non-operating, net4,018
Net income2,645
Net income %+57.0%
1 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Balance sheet: Not reported in source — the public cost report does not carry substantive balance-sheet detail (assets, liabilities, and net assets that reconcile) for this hospice. The income statement and ratio exhibit above are the reliable financial view here. We lead with those rather than render a hollow table.
Display states. FY25 · Operating margin: -837.7% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY24 · Operating margin: -221.4% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY23 · Operating margin: -870.3% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY22 · Operating margin: -613.7% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY21 · Operating margin: -422.2% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
8
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
100.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
2,371 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-422.2%-613.7%-870.3%-221.4%-837.7%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
Not available

The county this hospice serves

Lee County, IA · nonmetro, urban 5–20K
Median household income
$59.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.0%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
4.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
21.7%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 12.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 28.0% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin (as filed)FY25Astrelis calculation

-837.7% operating margin in FY25.

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 616.2 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 10 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc