A hospice in Washington, IA. It ran an operating loss of 38.9% in FY25 on $1.4M of operating revenue. It held 158 days of cash on hand. Operating margin declined from -20.0% in FY21 to -38.9% in FY25. It carries an average daily census of 20.
Average daily census
20
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY25
-38.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 9.3 pts vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total days of care
8,030 days
Reported value2025
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Operating margin
-38.9% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-9.3% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
158d (FY25)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
7.96× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
5% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
64d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
1,290
1,380
1,412
Total operating revenue
1,290
1,380
1,412
Total operating expenses
1,564
1,788
1,961
Operating income
(274)
(408)
(549)
Operating margin %
-21.3%
-29.6%
-38.9%
Other non-operating, net
700
454
383
Net income
426
46
(166)
Net income %
+21.4%
+2.5%
-9.3%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
20
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.3%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
8,030 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
CAHPS family caregiver rating (1–5 stars)
5
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice CAHPS
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospice serves
Washington County, IA · metro, under 250K
Median household income
$71.3K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
8.5%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
7.2%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
19.8%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
17.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 6.6% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 14.7% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 12 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world in 35+ board-ready pages, every measure benchmarked against its same-year peers.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.