Astrelis
Rural PPS hospital · Cheraw, SC

MCLEOD HEALTH CHERAW

CCN 420107CHESTERFIELD CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateRural (USDA RUCC)26 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Cheraw, SC. It ran an operating surplus of 14.8% in FY25 on $73.3M of operating revenue. It held 0 days of cash on hand (16th percentile of 201 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin improved from -8.7% in FY20 to 14.8% in FY25.

Operating margin · FY25
+14.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals89th pctl of 202 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals16th pctl of 201 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$73.3M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals44th pctl of 207 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+14.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals85th pctl of 202 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at MCLEOD HEALTH CHERAW is about $733K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where MCLEOD HEALTH CHERAW sits among Rural PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 202 of 410 filed

Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY25 median is -3.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -3.6%MCLEOD HEALTH +14.8%-20%0%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -3.6%MCLEOD HEALTH +14.8%
One rural pps hospitalMCLEOD HEALTHRural PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+14.8% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+14.8% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
0d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
0.99× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
45% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
16d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue56,87266,26072,569
Other operating revenue1,050550709
Total operating revenue57,92266,81073,278
Total operating expenses56,56061,15362,454
Operating income1,3625,65810,825
Operating margin %+2.4%+8.5%+14.8%
Grants & contributions105(14)(6)
Other non-operating, net1741213
Net income1,6415,65610,832
Net income %+2.8%+8.5%+14.8%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY23 · Net patient A/R: -11,856K Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -11855.9K (gross HOSP10_2023_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 16868.5K + L00600 0.0K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY22 · Net patient A/R: -9,728K Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -9728.5K (gross HOSP10_2022_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 12998.9K + L00600 33249.9K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 26-bed hospital running at 82% occupancy, where 64% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
82.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
21.38
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
26
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
2,296
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$8,024
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$27,201
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
0.17
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
0.8%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
64.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
273.90
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
18.8%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$9.0M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.743
No Different than National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
16.1%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.04
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.944336
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
-8.7%-4.9%+2.7%+2.4%+8.5%+14.8%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
2 days1 day1 day4 days6 days0 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

CHESTERFIELD County, SC · nonmetro, urban 5–20K, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$47.6K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
20.2%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
12.1%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
18.9%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
27.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 13.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 34.5% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Chesterfield County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$62.5M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$32.4M
$27.2M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$143.6M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
1.9%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

14.8% operating margin — 89th percentile of 202 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

18.4 points above the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $13.5M more operating income than the median rate.

(14.8% facility vs -3.6% peer median) = 18.4 points above the median × $73.3M revenue ≈ $13.5M more operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 202.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 202 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 17 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Rural PPS Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc