Financial anchor year: FY23. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY23. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY22, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read
A hospital in Pauls Valley, OK. It ran an operating loss of 77.3% in FY23 on $9.5M of operating revenue. It held 0 days of cash on hand (19th percentile of 390 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY23 pool). 2 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.
Operating margin · FY23
-77.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals1st pctl of 391 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY23
0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals19th pctl of 390 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY23
$9.5M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals2nd pctl of 396 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY23
-77.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals0th pctl of 391 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at VALLEY COMMUNITY HOSPITAL is about $95K per year (1% of FY23 total operating revenue).
Where VALLEY COMMUNITY HOSPITAL sits among Rural PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 391 of 410 filed
Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY23 median is -2.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One rural pps hospitalVALLEY COMMUNITYRural PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY21
FY22
FY23
Patient revenue
2,140
28,314
9,498
Other operating revenue
1
—
—
Total operating revenue
2,141
28,314
9,498
Total operating expenses
4,398
31,098
16,842
Operating income
(2,257)
(2,784)
(7,344)
Operating margin %
—
-9.8%
-77.3%
Net income
(2,257)
(2,784)
(7,344)
Net income %
—
-9.8%
-77.3%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY23 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY21 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -2,257K · Net patient revenue 2,140KFY21 · Days cash on hand: -188 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 43-bed hospital running at 3% occupancy, where 13% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
3.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
1.31
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
43
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
477
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
1 day
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$35,308
Astrelis calculation2023
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$35,308
Astrelis calculation2023
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
0.26
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
16.8%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
13.4%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
41.10
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
0.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$1.1M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.986954
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are not available for this reporting period.Note 2: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 3 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
GARVIN County, OK · nonmetro, urban 5–20K, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$57.1K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
15.3%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
15.5%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
18.0%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
22.2%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 13.6% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 31.4% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Garvin County
Illustrative estimate · FY23 cost report
Direct annual spending
$16.8M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Employment
55
41 direct jobs (reported FTEs) × 1.34 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Labor income
$4.6M
$3.9M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$38.7M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.4%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 391.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY23 peer pool · n = 391 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 17 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world in 35+ board-ready pages, every measure benchmarked against its same-year peers.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.