Astrelis
Rural PPS hospital · Andrews, TX

PERMIAN REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER ANDREWS COUNTY HO

CCN 450144ANDREWS CountyGovernment - Hospital District or AuthorityRural (USDA RUCC)36 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY22. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY22. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY25, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Days cash on hand is FY25, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospital in Andrews, TX. It ran an operating loss of 90.1% in FY22 on $30.7M of operating revenue. It held 11 days of cash on hand in FY25, its most recent reported liquidity (34th percentile of 201 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from -84.7% in FY21 to -90.1% in FY22. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 10.5%. These figures come from filings spanning FY22–FY25: read each by its own year rather than as one current picture.

Operating margin · FY22
-90.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
5.3 pts vs FY21
vs Rural PPS hospitals0th pctl of 390 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
11d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
6 days vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals34th pctl of 201 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$30.7M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.8M vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals16th pctl of 207 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY22
+10.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
8.0 pts vs FY21
vs Rural PPS hospitals82nd pctl of 390 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at PERMIAN REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER ANDREWS COUNTY HO is about $307K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where PERMIAN REGIONAL MEDICAL sits among Rural PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY22 pool · n = 390 of 410 filed

Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY22 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY22 median is -4.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -4.1%PERMIAN REGIONAL -90.1%-20%0%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -4.1%PERMIAN REGIONAL -90.1%
One rural pps hospitalPERMIAN REGIONALRural PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-90.1% (FY22)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+10.5% (FY22)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
11d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.83× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
68% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
44d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue31,50431,51330,730
Total operating revenue31,50431,51330,730
Total operating expenses66,82766,68774,654
Operating income(35,323)(35,175)(43,923)
Grants & contributions1,583107165
Investment income1,3601,122593
Other non-operating, net32,00531,77034,687
Net income(375)(2,176)(8,478)
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY25 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -43,923K · Net patient revenue 30,730KFY24 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -35,175K · Net patient revenue 31,513KFY23 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -35,323K · Net patient revenue 31,504KFY20 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -29,603K · Net patient revenue 27,122K

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 36-bed hospital running at 8% occupancy, where 82% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
8.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
3.04
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
36
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
512
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
2 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$67,499
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$145,808
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
0.30
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
8.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
81.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
456.60
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
18.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$9.0M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
0.98
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.996071
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
-84.7%-90.1%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
5 days14 days9 days15 days16 days11 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

ANDREWS County, TX · nonmetro, urban 5–20K, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$76.9K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
14.2%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
22.4%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
9.7%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
25.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Andrews County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$74.7M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$43.4M
$36.5M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$171.7M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
5.9%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY22Astrelis calculation

-90.1% operating margin — 0th percentile of 390 peers (FY22 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 5.3 points vs FY21 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

86.0 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $26.4M less operating income than the median rate.

(-90.1% facility vs -4.1% peer median) = 86.0 points below the median × $30.7M revenue ≈ $26.4M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY22 pool · n = 390.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY22 peer pool · n = 390 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 17 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Rural PPS Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc