CCN 370049Government - Hospital District or AuthorityRural (USDA RUCC)45 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read
A hospital in Stillwater, OK. It ran an operating loss of 3.0% in FY25 on $345.5M of operating revenue. It held 175 days of cash on hand (82nd percentile of 201 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from 2.0% in FY20 to -3.0% in FY25. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 7.8%.
Operating margin · FY25
-3.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 0.4 pts vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals53rd pctl of 202 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
175d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 26 days vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals82nd pctl of 201 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$345.5M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $29.1M vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals92nd pctl of 207 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+7.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 3.0 pts vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals67th pctl of 202 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at STILLWATER MEDICAL CENTER is about $3.5M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
Where STILLWATER MEDICAL CENTER sits among Rural PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 202 of 410 filed
Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY25 median is -3.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One rural pps hospitalSTILLWATER MEDICALRural PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
278,944
307,215
342,429
Other operating revenue
11,045
9,141
3,024
Total operating revenue
289,990
316,356
345,453
Total operating expenses
302,233
324,484
355,748
Operating income
(12,244)
(8,127)
(10,295)
Operating margin %
-4.2%
-2.6%
-3.0%
Grants & contributions
496
8,587
2,854
Investment income
15,983
—
13,418
Other non-operating, net
16,753
15,859
24,189
Net income
20,988
16,319
30,166
Net income %
+6.5%
+4.8%
+7.8%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 45-bed hospital running at 86% occupancy, where 77% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
85.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
38.77
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
45
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
5,336
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$25,211
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$66,669
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
76.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
1,517
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
18.8%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$5.9M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.252
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
14.8%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.03
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
1.064787
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
PAYNE County, OK · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$48.9K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
23.9%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
11.6%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
13.1%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
19.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 8.7% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 21.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Payne County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$355.7M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$173.1M
$145.5M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$818.2M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
4.3%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 202.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 202 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.