Financial anchor year: FY25. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY25. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY21, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read
A hospital in Tupelo, MS. It reported $0.7M of operating revenue. It held -98 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool. Only a single comparable reporting year is available, so trend context is limited. These figures come from filings spanning FY21–FY25: read each by its own year rather than as one current picture.
Operating margin
Astrelis calculation unavailable
Days cash on hand · FY25
-98d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 39 days vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total operating revenue · FY25
$0.7M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ $0.1M vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total margin · incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation unavailable
One point of operating margin at NORTH MISSISSIPPI STATE HOSPITAL is about $7K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
0d (FY21) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
968
746
654
Other operating revenue
—
5
—
Total operating revenue
968
752
654
Total operating expenses
9,533
9,756
9,664
Operating income
(8,565)
(9,004)
(9,011)
Grants & contributions
5,778
6,002
8,477
Other non-operating, net
17
14
17
Net income
(2,770)
(2,988)
(517)
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY25 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -9,011K · Net patient revenue 654KFY25 · Days cash on hand: -98 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY24 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -9,009K · Net patient revenue 746KFY24 · Days cash on hand: -137 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY23 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -8,565K · Net patient revenue 968KFY23 · Days cash on hand: -145 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY22 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -8,241K · Net patient revenue 1,455KFY22 · Days cash on hand: -91 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY21 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -7,016K · Net patient revenue 917K
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 50-bed psychiatric hospital running at 97% occupancy, where the average stay runs 38.9 days, and operating cost runs $546 per patient day.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
96.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
48.59
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
50
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
455
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
39 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$546
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$21,240
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
FY25 days cash on hand is an Astrelis calculation outside expected range: charted at the boundary arrow, shown at its actual value in the tiles, and included in peer statistics.
The county this hospital serves
LEE County, MS
Median household income
$67.1K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
13.8%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
11.0%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
15.4%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
20.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 9.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 23.2% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Lee County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$9.7M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$22.2M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 9 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.