A hospital in Macon, MS. It ran an operating loss of 42.4% in FY25 on $18.3M of operating revenue. It held 43 days of cash on hand (33rd percentile of 822 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from -11.0% in FY20 to -42.4% in FY25. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 10.0%.
Operating margin · FY25
-42.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 10.6 pts vs FY24
vs Critical Access Hospitals4th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
43d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 33 days vs FY24
vs Critical Access Hospitals33rd pctl of 822 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$18.3M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $0.2M vs FY24
vs Critical Access Hospitals24th pctl of 833 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+10.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 8.9 pts vs FY24
vs Critical Access Hospitals64th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at NOXUBEE GENERAL CRITICAL ACCESS HOSP is about $183K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
Where NOXUBEE GENERAL CRITICAL sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 824 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY25 median is -0.2%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalNOXUBEE GENERALCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
-49.7% (FY25)
5th percentile of 21 CAHs (FY25 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+50.2% (FY25)
57th percentile of 21 CAHs (FY25 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
15,167
18,226
18,188
Other operating revenue
262
(124)
106
Total operating revenue
15,429
18,102
18,295
Total operating expenses
22,988
23,858
26,054
Operating income
(7,559)
(5,756)
(7,759)
Operating margin %
-49.0%
-31.8%
-42.4%
Investment income
82
238
407
Other non-operating, net
5,978
5,768
10,232
Net income
(1,499)
250
2,880
Net income %
-7.0%
+1.0%
+10.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 25-bed hospital running at 10% occupancy, where swing beds are 71% of the inpatient business, and 66% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
10.1%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
2.52
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
25
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
297
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$28,381
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$87,724
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
6.25
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
71.2%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
65.8%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$3.4M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Data are shown only for hospitals that participate in the Inpatient Quality Reporting (IQR) and Outpatient Quality Reporting (OQR) programs.
Pricing
Pilot · FY25
Commercial rates vs Medicare
149%
Medicare baseline100%
Commercial negotiated rates149%
Commercial negotiated rates as a percent of Medicare rates, outpatient basket. Chart bound 300%; values beyond it are clipped at the bar edge and shown at their actual figure.
Hospital price files + Medicare rates
Directional indicator from public price files. Facility-specific rate positioning is the Commercial Pricing Study →
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
NOXUBEE County, MS · nonmetro, rural, remote
Median household income
$38.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
25.6%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
20.0%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
17.6%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
31.5%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 17.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 37.5% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Noxubee County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$26.1M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$59.9M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY25Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs
-49.7% — 5th percentile of 21 matched CAH peers (FY25).
The Board Briefing
Operating margin declined 10.6 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.
CAH Performance Benchmark: FY25 peer pool · n = 824 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Basis: 60 services in the basket · 4 classified commercial payers (67% of commercial volume classified) · pricing files captured 2026-07-19 · numerator: negotiated commercial allowed amounts (classified payers) · denominator: Medicare OPPS-equivalent for the same services · weighting: volume-weighted line-level outpatient service basket (CY2026 OPPS equivalent) (weight coverage 75%).
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.