Astrelis
Critical Access Hospital · Jordan, MT

GARFIELD COUNTY HEALTH CENTER

CCN 271310GARFIELD CountyGovernment - Local25 bedsLatest FY 2025
Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (other - provider status change). The facility continued under CCN 270779 see the current profile. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Jordan, MT. It ran an operating loss of 42.7% in FY25 on $2.6M of operating revenue. It held 111 days of cash on hand (51st percentile of 822 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from -37.5% in FY21 to -42.7% in FY25, though it rose 12.2 points in the most recent year. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 20.3%.

Operating margin · FY25
-42.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
12.2 pts vs FY24
vs Critical Access Hospitals4th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
111d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
82 days vs FY24
vs Critical Access Hospitals51st pctl of 822 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$2.6M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.5M vs FY24
vs Critical Access Hospitals0th pctl of 833 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+20.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
43.0 pts vs FY24
vs Critical Access Hospitals90th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at GARFIELD COUNTY HEALTH CENTER is about $26K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where GARFIELD COUNTY HEALTH sits among Critical Access Hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 824 of 1,399 filed

Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY25 median is -0.2%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -0.2%GARFIELD COUNTY -42.7%-20%0%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -0.2%GARFIELD COUNTY -42.7%
One critical access hospitalGARFIELD COUNTYCritical Access Hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-42.7% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+20.3% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
111d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
7.38× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
60% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
33d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue2,2042,1862,643
Other operating revenue411
Total operating revenue2,2082,1872,644
Total operating expenses3,2073,3873,772
Operating income(999)(1,200)(1,128)
Operating margin %-45.2%-54.9%-42.7%
Grants & contributions3263491,040
Investment income151314
Other non-operating, net92101,034
Net income(649)(628)960
Net income %-25.0%-22.7%+20.3%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 25-bed hospital running at 1% occupancy, where swing beds are 98% of the inpatient business, and 39% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
0.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
0.17
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
25
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
16
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$61,836
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$235,750
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
10.68
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
98.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
39.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are not available for this reporting period.Note 2: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-37.5%-5.2%-45.2%-54.9%-42.7%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
86 days199 days88 days29 days111 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

GARFIELD County, MT
Median household income
$61.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
12.2%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
10.9%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
27.6%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
20.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 22.4% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Garfield County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$3.8M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$8.7M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs

+0.2% (FY24).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 12.2 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Commercial Pricing Study

Charge markup ratio 0.70× (gross charges ÷ total operating cost, HCRIS as filed) — the study prices your actual negotiated-rate file against it.

Request Commercial Pricing Study →
How we calculated this

Peer pool matched on: bed-size band · rural status · state (progressively widened to national at a 20-peer floor).

View the formula in the methodology →

Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

CAH Performance Benchmark

Contribution margin by department, Medicare take-back exposure, and capture gaps against matched peers, from your own filed cost report.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.

Commercial Pricing Study

Your negotiated commercial rates against Medicare and against peers, from hospitals' own published price files.

$10,000Scoped after rate-file validation
Rate file unverified · validated before payment
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site. We validate your hospital's rate file before taking payment.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc