Astrelis
Critical Access Hospital · IN

Critical Access Hospital · CCN 151302

CCN 15130215 bedsLatest FY 2023
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in IN. It ran an operating loss of 24.8% in FY23 on $15.4M of operating revenue. It held 2 days of cash on hand (13th percentile of 1,319 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY23 pool). Operating margin declined from -8.3% in FY20 to -24.8% in FY23.

Operating margin · FY23
-24.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
11.7 pts vs FY22
vs Critical Access Hospitals11th pctl of 1,330 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY23
2d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
8 days vs FY22
vs Critical Access Hospitals13th pctl of 1,319 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY23
$15.4M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$9.2M vs FY22
vs Critical Access Hospitals24th pctl of 1,349 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY23
-24.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
11.7 pts vs FY22
vs Critical Access Hospitals2nd pctl of 1,331 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at Critical Access Hospital · CCN 151302 is about $154K per year (1% of FY23 total operating revenue).

Where Critical Access Hospital sits among Critical Access Hospitals

Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 1,330 of 1,399 filed

Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY23 median is -3.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -3.1%Critical Access -24.8%-20%0%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -3.1%Critical Access -24.8%
One critical access hospitalCritical AccessCritical Access Hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-24.8% (FY23)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-24.8% (FY23)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
2d (FY23)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
0.55× (FY23)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
62% (FY23)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
18d (FY23)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
+14.7% (FY23)
33rd percentile of 171 CAHs (FY23 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+44.7% (FY23)
32nd percentile of 171 CAHs (FY23 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line itemFY21FY22FY23
Patient revenue23,11923,94514,961
Other operating revenue178596428
Total operating revenue23,29724,54015,389
Total operating expenses24,13427,75519,209
Operating income(837)(3,214)(3,820)
Operating margin %-3.6%-13.1%-24.8%
Other non-operating, net4,28100
Net income3,444(3,214)(3,820)
Net income %+12.5%-13.1%-24.8%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY23 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 15-bed hospital running at 12% occupancy, where swing beds are 43% of the inpatient business, and 93% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
11.6%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
1.75
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
15
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
131
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$40,270
Astrelis calculation2023
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$146,633
Astrelis calculation2023
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
1.34
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
43.4%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
93.2%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$3.2M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
As a Critical Access Hospital, this facility is exempt from most CMS public quality-measure programs. No public measures are reported for it. That is a program design fact, not a quality signal.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 4 reporting years
Operating margin
-8.3%-3.6%-13.1%-24.8%FY20FY21FY22FY23
Days cash on hand
167 days97 days10 days2 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23

State context

Indiana
County-level statistics: linkage not established— this record's county mapping is not verified in the resolved spine, and we never place a facility in a county by guesswork. State-level context appears here once a state aggregate layer lands.

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to its county

Illustrative estimate · FY23 cost report
Direct annual spending
$19.2M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Employment
189
141 direct jobs (estimated from payroll) × 1.34 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$44.2M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
5.0%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY23Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs

+14.7% — 33th percentile of 171 matched CAH peers (FY23).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 11.7 points vs FY22 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
CAH Performance Benchmark

21.7 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $3.3M less operating income than the median rate.

(-24.8% facility vs -3.1% peer median) = 21.7 points below the median × $15.4M revenue ≈ $3.3M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve CAH Performance Benchmark →
Commercial Pricing Study

Charge markup ratio 2.36× (gross charges ÷ total operating cost, HCRIS as filed) — the study prices your actual negotiated-rate file against it.

Request Commercial Pricing Study →
How we calculated this

Peer pool matched on: bed-size band · rural status · state (progressively widened to national at a 20-peer floor).

Medicare inpatient contribution margin: FY23 pool · n = 171.

View the formula in the methodology →

CAH Performance Benchmark: FY23 peer pool · n = 1,330 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

CAH Performance Benchmark

Contribution margin by department, Medicare take-back exposure, and capture gaps against matched peers, from your own filed cost report.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.

Commercial Pricing Study

Your negotiated commercial rates against Medicare and against peers, from hospitals' own published price files.

$10,000Scoped after rate-file validation
Rate file unverified · validated before payment
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site. We validate your hospital's rate file before taking payment.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc