A hospital in Clewiston, FL. It ran an operating loss of 13.2% in FY24 on $42.5M of operating revenue. It held 93 days of cash on hand (49th percentile of 1,325 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -42.1% in FY20 to -13.2% in FY24. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 15.6%.
Operating margin · FY24
-13.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 21.8 pts vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals21st pctl of 1,340 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
93d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 23 days vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals49th pctl of 1,325 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$42.5M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $10.4M vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals66th pctl of 1,356 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+15.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 13.4 pts vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals85th pctl of 1,341 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at HENDRY REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER is about $425K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where HENDRY REGIONAL MEDICAL sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 1,340 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY24 median is -1.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalHENDRY REGIONALCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
-874.1% (FY25)
0th percentile of 476 CAHs (FY25 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
-570.0% (FY25)
0th percentile of 476 CAHs (FY25 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
41,064
32,043
42,469
Other operating revenue
10,133
—
—
Total operating revenue
51,197
32,043
42,469
Total operating expenses
49,594
43,263
48,073
Operating income
1,603
(11,219)
(5,604)
Operating margin %
+3.1%
-35.0%
-13.2%
Grants & contributions
180
12,212
14,516
Other non-operating, net
1,107
(1)
1
Net income
2,890
992
8,913
Net income %
+5.5%
+2.2%
+15.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY25 · Operating margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (net patient revenue was not reported (or is zero) on this filing)Filed inputs: Operating income -53,383KFY25 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 25-bed hospital running at 7% occupancy, where swing beds are 49% of the inpatient business.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
7.2%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
1.79
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
25
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
247
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$81,751
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$216,126
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
1.76
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
49.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$7.3M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
14.8%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
HENDRY County, FL · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$53.0K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
21.6%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
20.6%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
13.6%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
31.2%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 12.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 28.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Hendry County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$53.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$122.8M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY25Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs
-874.1% — 0th percentile of 476 matched CAH peers (FY25).
The Board Briefing
Operating margin improved 21.8 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.
CAH Performance Benchmark: FY24 peer pool · n = 1,340 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.