Astrelis
Children's hospital · Palo Alto, CA

LUCILE SALTER PACKARD CHILDREN'S HSP AT STANFORD

CCN 053305SANTA CLARA CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateUrban (USDA RUCC)258 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Palo Alto, CA. It ran an operating surplus of 3.5% in FY25 on $2857.2M of operating revenue. It held 242 days of cash on hand (61st percentile of 36 Children's hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from 8.7% in FY21 to 3.5% in FY25.

Operating margin · FY25
+3.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
0.3 pts vs FY24
vs Children's hospitals47th pctl of 38 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
242d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
16 days vs FY24
vs Children's hospitals61st pctl of 36 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$2.86B
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$144.4M vs FY24
vs Children's hospitals90th pctl of 41 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+5.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
0.0 pts vs FY24
vs Children's hospitals32nd pctl of 38 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at LUCILE SALTER PACKARD CHILDREN'S HSP AT STANFORD is about $28.6M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where LUCILE SALTER PACKARD sits among Children's hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 38 of 73 filed

Each point is one Children's hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Children's hospital FY25 median is +3.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Children's hospital median +3.6%LUCILE SALTER +3.5%-20%0%+20%Children's hospital median +3.6%LUCILE SALTER +3.5%
One children's hospitalLUCILE SALTERChildren's hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+3.5% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+5.6% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
242d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
2.11× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
66% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
104d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue2,392,7092,604,2532,702,356
Other operating revenue68,058108,546154,815
Total operating revenue2,460,7672,712,7982,857,172
Total operating expenses2,412,2562,625,3602,757,289
Operating income48,51187,43899,882
Operating margin %+2.0%+3.2%+3.5%
Grants & contributions34,41831,31530,557
Investment income5,78914,77511,891
Other non-operating, net24,48322,53422,476
Net income113,201156,062164,806
Net income %+4.5%+5.6%+5.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 258-bed children's hospital running at 69% occupancy, where operating cost runs $134,969 per discharge (unadjusted), and 26% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
69.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
179.65
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
258
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
20,429
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$42,164
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$134,969
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
26.3%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: CMS does not publish these measures for this provider subtype (it does not participate in the acute-care IQR/OQR reporting programs, which do not apply here).

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+8.7%-2.8%+2.0%+3.2%+3.5%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
283 days261 days232 days226 days242 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

SANTA CLARA County, CA
Median household income
$159.7K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
6.9%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
4.0%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
14.4%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
16.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 3.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 7.0% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Santa Clara County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$2.76B
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$6.34B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

3.5% operating margin — 47th percentile of 38 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 0.3 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

0.1 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $2.9M less operating income than the median rate.

(3.5% facility vs 3.6% peer median) = 0.1 points below the median × $2857.2M revenue ≈ $2.9M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 38.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 38 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 12 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc