Astrelis
Children's hospital · Phoenix, AZ

PHOENIX CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL

CCN 033302MARICOPA CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateUrban (USDA RUCC)265 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Phoenix, AZ. It ran an operating surplus of 3.3% in FY24 on $1590.7M of operating revenue. It held 395 days of cash on hand (81st percentile of 64 Children's hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from 7.7% in FY20 to 3.3% in FY24.

Operating margin · FY24
+3.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
1.9 pts vs FY23
vs Children's hospitals45th pctl of 66 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
395d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
41 days vs FY23
vs Children's hospitals81st pctl of 64 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$1.59B
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$200.7M vs FY23
vs Children's hospitals79th pctl of 68 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+15.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
3.0 pts vs FY23
vs Children's hospitals68th pctl of 66 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at PHOENIX CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL is about $15.9M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where PHOENIX CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL sits among Children's hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 66 of 73 filed

Each point is one Children's hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Children's hospital FY24 median is +5.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Children's hospital median +5.6%PHOENIX CHILDREN'S +3.3%-20%0%+20%Children's hospital median +5.6%PHOENIX CHILDREN'S +3.3%
One children's hospitalPHOENIX CHILDREN'SChildren's hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+3.3% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+15.7% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
395d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
2.98× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
60% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
56d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue1,255,3901,372,5551,522,100
Other operating revenue10,52917,44268,588
Total operating revenue1,265,9191,389,9961,590,688
Total operating expenses1,179,5701,317,0761,537,982
Operating income86,34872,92052,706
Operating margin %+6.8%+5.2%+3.3%
Grants & contributions110
Investment income27,58545,21760,888
Other non-operating, net(122,091)159,598158,794
Net income(8,147)277,735272,388
Net income %-0.6%+18.7%+15.7%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 265-bed children's hospital running at 58% occupancy, where operating cost runs $105,761 per discharge (unadjusted), and 53% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
57.9%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
153.69
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
265
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
14,542
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$27,416
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$105,761
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
53.3%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: CMS does not publish these measures for this provider subtype (it does not participate in the acute-care IQR/OQR reporting programs, which do not apply here).

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+7.7%+8.4%+6.8%+5.2%+3.3%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
597 days550 days460 days436 days395 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

MARICOPA County, AZ · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$85.5K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
11.3%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
10.7%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
16.0%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
17.5%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Maricopa County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$1.54B
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$3.54B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

3.3% operating margin — 45th percentile of 66 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 1.9 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

2.3 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $36.6M less operating income than the median rate.

(3.3% facility vs 5.6% peer median) = 2.3 points below the median × $1590.7M revenue ≈ $36.6M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 66.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 66 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 12 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc