Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Daly City, CA

AHMC SETON MEDICAL CENTER

CCN 050289San Mateo CountyVoluntary non-profit - ChurchUrban (USDA RUCC)160 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Daly City, CA. It ran an operating loss of 41.7% in FY25 on $134.1M of operating revenue. It held 350 days of cash on hand (93rd percentile of 1,446 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from -28.8% in FY21 to -41.7% in FY25.

Operating margin · FY25
-41.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
15.3 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals3rd pctl of 1,475 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
350d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
336 days vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals93rd pctl of 1,446 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$134.1M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$27.1M vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals27th pctl of 1,503 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-37.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
13.7 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals1st pctl of 1,476 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at AHMC SETON MEDICAL CENTER is about $1.3M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where AHMC SETON MEDICAL sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 1,475 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY25 median is +1.3%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%AHMC SETON -41.7%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%AHMC SETON -41.7%
One urban pps hospitalAHMC SETONUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-41.7% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-37.1% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
350d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
0.27× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
-28% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
-413d (FY25) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue176,392160,737134,145
Other operating revenue5,1515440
Total operating revenue181,543161,281134,145
Total operating expenses189,513203,792190,035
Operating income(7,970)(42,511)(55,890)
Operating margin %-4.4%-26.4%-41.7%
Investment income9071,2011,192
Other non-operating, net1,1002,5733,248
Net income(5,963)(38,737)(51,450)
Net income %-3.2%-23.5%-37.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY25 · Net patient A/R Source mapping pending (the filed allowance lines do not reconcile to a plausible net figure under the AD-1195 remap; the filed inputs are shown and only the derived calculation is withheld)Filed inputs: Gross accounts receivable (as filed) 0K · Net patient revenue 134,145K · Fiscal-period days 364 daysFY22 · Net patient A/R Not reported in source (gross accounts receivable was not filed on Worksheet G, so no net figure exists to derive)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 160-bed hospital running at 49% occupancy, where 34% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
49.2%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
78.90
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
160
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
2,168
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
13 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$6,617
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$87,654
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
34.3%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
681.30
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
16.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$35.4M
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.8%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.01
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.910765
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-28.8%-8.9%-4.4%-26.4%-41.7%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
44 days6 days1 day14 days350 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

SAN MATEO County, CA · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$156.0K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
6.5%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
3.9%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
17.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
16.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 2.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 6.0% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to San Mateo County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$190.0M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$120.2M
$101.0M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$437.1M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.2%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

-41.7% operating margin — 3th percentile of 1,475 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 15.3 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

43.0 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $57.7M less operating income than the median rate.

(-41.7% facility vs 1.3% peer median) = 43.0 points below the median × $134.1M revenue ≈ $57.7M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 1,475.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 1,475 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc