A hospital in AR. It ran an operating surplus of 33.2% in FY24 on $5.1M of operating revenue. It held 116 days of cash on hand (55th percentile of 1,325 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). 5 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.
Operating margin · FY24
+33.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals99th pctl of 1,340 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
116d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals55th pctl of 1,325 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$5.1M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals1st pctl of 1,356 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+33.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals98th pctl of 1,341 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at Critical Access Hospital · CCN 041316 is about $51K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where Critical Access Hospital sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 1,340 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY24 median is -1.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalCritical AccessCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
-37.7% (FY24)
4th percentile of 476 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+46.6% (FY24)
22nd percentile of 476 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
7,050
7,699
2,881
Other operating revenue
4,296
1,296
2,232
Total operating revenue
11,346
8,994
5,114
Total operating expenses
10,947
10,827
3,415
Operating income
399
(1,833)
1,699
Operating margin %
+3.5%
-20.4%
+33.2%
Other non-operating, net
0
1,165
0
Net income
399
(668)
1,699
Net income %
+3.5%
-6.6%
+33.2%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 25-bed hospital running at 4% occupancy, where swing beds are 40% of the inpatient business, and 92% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
4.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
1.04
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
25
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
49
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$27,318
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$69,688
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
0.71
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
40.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
91.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$1.7M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
As a Critical Access Hospital, this facility is exempt from most CMS public quality-measure programs. No public measures are reported for it. That is a program design fact, not a quality signal.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
State context
Arkansas
County-level statistics: linkage not established— this record's county mapping is not verified in the resolved spine, and we never place a facility in a county by guesswork. State-level context appears here once a state aggregate layer lands.
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to its county
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$3.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$7.9M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs
-37.7% — 4th percentile of 476 matched CAH peers (FY24).
The Board Briefing
What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.
CAH Performance Benchmark: FY24 peer pool · n = 1,340 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.