Astrelis
Hospice · Denton, TX

KLARUS HOSPICE

CCN 971557Denton CountyLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY24. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY24. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY22, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Days cash on hand is FY22, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospice in Denton, TX. It ran an operating loss of 38.2% in FY24 on $1.0M of operating revenue. It held 1 day of cash on hand in FY22, its most recent reported liquidity (13th percentile of 2,781 hospices on liquidity, FY22 pool). Operating margin declined from -5.8% in FY22 to -38.2% in FY24, though it rose 1.0 points in the most recent year. It carries an average daily census of 16.

Average daily census
16
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
8
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY24
-38.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs hospices18th pctl of 3,782 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
6,088 days
Reported value2024
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where KLARUS HOSPICE sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 3,782 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY24 median is -2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -2.0%KLARUS HOSPICE -38.2%-20%0%+20%hospice median -2.0%KLARUS HOSPICE -38.2%
One hospiceKLARUS HOSPICEhospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-38.2% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-25.6% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
1d (FY22)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Not reported in source
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
24% (FY22)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
52d (FY22)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue1,8981,7461,000
Total operating revenue1,8981,7461,000
Total operating expenses2,0082,4311,382
Operating income(110)(685)(382)
Operating margin %-5.8%-39.2%-38.2%
Other non-operating, net328303101
Net income218(382)(281)
Net income %+9.8%-18.6%-25.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY22–FY24 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
8
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
16
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
98.4%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
1.4%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.2%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
6,088 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 3 reporting years
Operating margin
-5.8%-39.2%-38.2%FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
1 dayFY22FY23FY24

The county this hospice serves

Denton County, TX · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$108.2K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
7.0%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
10.8%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
11.2%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
15.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 3.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 9.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-38.2% operating margin — 18th percentile of 3,782 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 3,782.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 11 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc