Astrelis
Hospice · Corpus Christi, TX

ANGEL BRIGHT HOSPICE INC

CCN 671608Nueces CountyLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY24. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY24. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY23, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospice in Corpus Christi, TX. It ran an operating loss of 39.2% in FY24 on $2.7M of operating revenue. It held 15 days of cash on hand (35th percentile of 3,076 hospices on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from -4.0% in FY20 to -39.2% in FY24. It carries an average daily census of 29.

Average daily census
29
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY24
-39.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
18.9 pts vs FY23
vs hospices18th pctl of 3,782 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
9,365 days
Reported value2024
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where ANGEL BRIGHT HOSPICE sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 3,782 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY24 median is -2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -2.0%ANGEL BRIGHT -39.2%-20%0%+20%hospice median -2.0%ANGEL BRIGHT -39.2%
One hospiceANGEL BRIGHThospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-39.2% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-39.2% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
15d (FY24)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
5.42× (FY23)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
90% (FY23)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
72d (FY23)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue4,7763,9722,702
Total operating revenue4,7763,9722,702
Total operating expenses5,2294,7793,762
Operating income(453)(807)(1,060)
Operating margin %-9.5%-20.3%-39.2%
Other non-operating, net7048851
Net income25178(1,059)
Net income %+4.6%+1.6%-39.2%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
29
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice
General inpatient mix
100.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
9,365 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
CAHPS family caregiver rating (1–5 stars)
3
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice CAHPS
Routine home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-4.0%-14.6%-9.5%-20.3%-39.2%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
15 days73 days30 days22 days15 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospice serves

Nueces County, TX · metro, 250K–1M
Median household income
$66.0K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
17.7%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
17.6%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
15.6%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
26.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 12.1% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 24.7% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-39.2% operating margin — 18th percentile of 3,782 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 18.9 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 3,782.

Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 12 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc