Astrelis
Hospice · Elizabethton, TN

AMEDISYS HOSPICE, AN ADVENTA COMPANY

CCN 441534Carter CountyLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in Elizabethton, TN. It ran an operating surplus of 15.5% in FY25 on $25.3M of operating revenue. It held 5,750 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool. It carries an average daily census of 398.

Average daily census
398
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY25
+15.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
1.5 pts vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total days of care
152,262 days
Reported value2025
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+15.5% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+30.3% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
5750d (FY25)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.36× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
42% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
4259d (FY25) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue22,45723,51125,329
Total operating revenue22,45723,51125,329
Total operating expenses18,95020,22521,411
Operating income3,5083,2873,919
Operating margin %+15.6%+14.0%+15.5%
Other non-operating, net4,8805,1695,404
Net income8,3888,4569,323
Net income %+30.7%+29.5%+30.3%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Display states. FY21 · Days cash on hand: 1,754 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY23 · Days cash on hand: 2,141 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY24 · Days cash on hand: 2,840 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY25 · Days cash on hand: 5,750 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
398
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.6%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
152,262 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
CAHPS family caregiver rating (1–5 stars)
4
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice CAHPS

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+15.8%+17.9%+15.6%+14.0%+15.5%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
1,754 days955 days2,141 days2,840 days5,750 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospice serves

Carter County, TN
Median household income
$48.4K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
18.0%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
12.9%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
22.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
26.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 13.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 33.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin (as filed)FY25Astrelis calculation

15.5% operating margin in FY25.

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 1.5 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 12 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc