Astrelis
Hospice · New Philadelphia, OH

COMMUNITY HOSPICE

CCN 361528Tuscarawas CountyLatest FY 2023
Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (voluntary - merger/closure). No successor CCN is recorded. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in New Philadelphia, OH. It ran an operating loss of 56.5% in FY23 on $10.0M of operating revenue. It held 26 days of cash on hand (48th percentile of 2,916 hospices on liquidity, FY23 pool). Operating margin declined from -47.4% in FY20 to -56.5% in FY23, though it rose 8.3 points in the most recent year.

Days cash on hand · FY23
26d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
1 days vs FY22
vs hospices48th pctl of 2,916 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY23
$10.0M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.5M vs FY22
vs hospices86th pctl of 3,635 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Operating margin · FY23
-56.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
8.3 pts vs FY22
vs hospices13th pctl of 3,634 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
55,959 days
Reported value2023
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where COMMUNITY HOSPICE sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 3,634 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY23 median is -3.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -3.1%COMMUNITY HOSPICE -56.5%-20%0%+20%hospice median -3.1%COMMUNITY HOSPICE -56.5%
One hospiceCOMMUNITY HOSPICEhospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-56.5% (FY23)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-8.8% (FY23)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
26d (FY23)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.80× (FY23)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
26% (FY23)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
23d (FY23)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY21FY22FY23
Patient revenue12,17110,51110,013
Total operating revenue12,17110,51110,013
Total operating expenses18,54017,33015,676
Operating income(6,369)(6,819)(5,662)
Operating margin %-52.3%-64.9%-56.5%
Other non-operating, net6,6634,6554,391
Net income294(2,164)(1,271)
Net income %+1.6%-14.3%-8.8%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY23 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Routine home care mix
96.3%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
2.3%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
1.5%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
55,959 days
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 4 reporting years
Operating margin
-47.4%-52.3%-64.9%-56.5%FY20FY21FY22FY23
Days cash on hand
45 days66 days27 days26 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23

The county this hospice serves

Tuscarawas County, OH
Median household income
$64.5K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.0%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
8.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
19.9%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
19.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.1% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 22.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation

-56.5% operating margin — 13th percentile of 3,634 peers (FY23 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 8.3 points vs FY22 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 3,634.

Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 9 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc