Astrelis
Hospice · Cherry Hill, NJ

CARING HANDS HOSPICE

CCN 311583Camden CountyLatest FY 2022
Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (voluntary - risk of involuntary termination). No successor CCN is recorded. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in Cherry Hill, NJ. It ran an operating surplus of 9.2% in FY22 on $0.5M of operating revenue. It held 11 days of cash on hand (29th percentile of 2,781 hospices on liquidity, FY22 pool). 3 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.

Days cash on hand · FY22
11d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
1 days vs FY20
vs hospices29th pctl of 2,781 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY22
$0.5M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.5M vs FY21
vs hospices8th pctl of 3,459 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Operating margin · FY22
+9.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
23.2 pts vs FY21
vs hospices71st pctl of 3,459 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
3,180 days
Reported value2022
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where CARING HANDS HOSPICE sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY22 pool · n = 3,459 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY22 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY22 median is -3.9%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -3.9%CARING HANDS +9.2%-20%0%+20%hospice median -3.9%CARING HANDS +9.2%
One hospiceCARING HANDShospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+9.2% (FY22)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+17.6% (FY22)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
11d (FY22)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Not reported in source
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
0% (FY22)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Not reported in source
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY20FY21FY22
Patient revenue1,100928462
Total operating revenue1,100928462
Total operating expenses524627420
Operating income57630143
Operating margin %+52.4%+32.4%+9.2%
Other non-operating, net50047
Net income62630190
Net income %+54.4%+32.4%+17.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY22 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Routine home care mix
100.0%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
3,180 days
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.0%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 3 reporting years
Operating margin
+52.4%+32.4%+9.2%FY20FY21FY22
Days cash on hand
10 days11 daysFY20FY21FY22

The county this hospice serves

Camden County, NJ
Median household income
$86.4K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
12.2%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.4%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
16.2%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.3%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.5% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 21.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY22Astrelis calculation

9.2% operating margin — 71th percentile of 3,459 peers (FY22 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 23.2 points vs FY21 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY22 pool · n = 3,459.

Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 9 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc