Astrelis
Hospice · Flowood, MS

COMPASSUS-JACKSON

CCN 251586Rankin CountyLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in Flowood, MS. It ran an operating surplus of 1.5% in FY24 on $3.8M of operating revenue. It held 8,663 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool (94th percentile of 3,076 hospices on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from 10.2% in FY20 to 1.5% in FY24, though it rose 1.8 points in the most recent year. It carries an average daily census of 60.

Average daily census
60
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
8
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY24
+1.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
1.8 pts vs FY23
vs hospices56th pctl of 3,782 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
23,429 days
Reported value2024
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where COMPASSUS-JACKSON sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 3,782 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY24 median is -2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -2.0%COMPASSUS-JACKSON +1.5%-20%0%+20%hospice median -2.0%COMPASSUS-JACKSON +1.5%
One hospiceCOMPASSUS-JACKSONhospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+1.5% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+24.9% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
8663d (FY24)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
0.43× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
73% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
10855d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue3,4523,9153,842
Total operating revenue3,4523,9153,842
Total operating expenses3,1933,9253,784
Operating income259(10)58
Operating margin %+7.5%-0.3%+1.5%
Other non-operating, net7651,1221,196
Net income1,0241,1121,254
Net income %+24.3%+22.1%+24.9%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Display states. FY20 · Days cash on hand: 16,268 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY21 · Days cash on hand: 24,684 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY22 · Days cash on hand: 18,795 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY23 · Days cash on hand: 12,468 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY24 · Days cash on hand: 8,663 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
8
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
60
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.4%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
23,429 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+10.2%+18.1%+7.5%-0.3%+1.5%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
16,268 days24,684 days18,795 days12,468 days8,663 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospice serves

Rankin County, MS
Median household income
$77.5K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
10.0%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.2%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
16.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.3%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 19.1% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

1.5% operating margin — 56th percentile of 3,782 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 1.8 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 3,782.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 11 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc