Astrelis
hospice · CA

KEYSTONE HOSPICE INCORPORATION

CCN 921790Latest FY 2021
Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (voluntary - merger/closure). No successor CCN is recorded. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in CA. It ran an operating loss of 11.1% in FY21 on $3.3M of operating revenue. It held -20 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool (2nd percentile of 2,649 hospices on liquidity, FY21 pool). Operating margin declined from 4.5% in FY20 to -11.1% in FY21.

Days cash on hand · FY21
-20d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
38 days vs FY20
vs hospices2nd pctl of 2,649 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY21
$3.3M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.5M vs FY20
vs hospices55th pctl of 3,263 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Operating margin · FY21
-11.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
15.7 pts vs FY20
vs hospices37th pctl of 3,261 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
13,209 days
Reported value2021
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where KEYSTONE HOSPICE INCORPORATION sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY21 pool · n = 3,261 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY21 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY21 median is -0.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -0.8%KEYSTONE HOSPICE -11.1%-20%0%+20%hospice median -0.8%KEYSTONE HOSPICE -11.1%
One hospiceKEYSTONE HOSPICEhospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-11.1% (FY21)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-11.1% (FY21)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
-20d (FY21)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY20FY21
Patient revenue3,8053,258
Total operating revenue3,8053,258
Total operating expenses3,6333,621
Operating income173(363)
Operating margin %+4.5%-11.1%
Other non-operating, net740
Net income247(363)
Net income %+6.4%-11.1%
2 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY21 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Display states. FY21 · Days cash on hand: -20 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Routine home care mix
97.7%
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
2.2%
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.0%
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
13,209 days
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 2 reporting years
Operating margin
+4.5%-11.1%FY20FY21
Days cash on hand
17 days-20 daysFY20FY21

State context

California
County-level statistics: linkage not established— this record's county mapping is not verified in the resolved spine, and we never place a facility in a county by guesswork. State-level context appears here once a state aggregate layer lands.
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY21Astrelis calculation

-11.1% operating margin — 37th percentile of 3,261 peers (FY21 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 15.7 points vs FY20 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY21 pool · n = 3,261.

Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 9 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc