Astrelis
Hospice · White Bear Lake, MN

ProMedica Hospice

CCN 241554Ramsey CountyLatest FY 2023
Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (voluntary - merger/closure). No successor CCN is recorded. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY23. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY23. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY22, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospice in White Bear Lake, MN. It ran an operating loss of 4.3% in FY23 on $5.8M of operating revenue. Operating margin declined from 10.3% in FY20 to -4.3% in FY23, though it rose 9.9 points in the most recent year.

Days cash on hand
Astrelis calculation unavailable
Total operating revenue · FY23
$5.8M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs hospices73rd pctl of 3,635 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Operating margin · FY23
-4.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs hospices48th pctl of 3,634 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
33,303 days
Reported value2023
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where ProMedica Hospice sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 3,634 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY23 median is -3.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -3.1%ProMedica Hospice -4.3%-20%0%+20%hospice median -3.1%ProMedica Hospice -4.3%
One hospiceProMedica Hospicehospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-4.3% (FY23)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-4.2% (FY23)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
Not reported in source
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
0.76× (FY22)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
98% (FY22)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
32d (FY22)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY21FY22FY23
Patient revenue6,4825,4915,767
Total operating revenue6,4825,4915,767
Total operating expenses6,5516,2726,017
Operating income(69)(781)(250)
Operating margin %-1.1%-14.2%-4.3%
Other non-operating, net151039
Net income(54)(678)(241)
Net income %-0.8%-12.1%-4.2%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY23 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Routine home care mix
100.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
33,303 days
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 4 reporting years
Operating margin
+10.3%-1.1%-14.2%-4.3%FY20FY21FY22FY23
Days cash on hand
Not available

The county this hospice serves

Ramsey County, MN
Median household income
$81.0K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
12.4%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
5.2%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
15.4%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.0% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 19.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation

-4.3% operating margin — 48th percentile of 3,634 peers (FY23 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 3,634.

Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 8 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc