Financial anchor year: FY23. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY23. Days cash on hand is FY22, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read
A hospice in Livonia, MI. It ran an operating loss of 1.2% in FY23 on $9.1M of operating revenue. It held 1 day of cash on hand in FY22, its most recent reported liquidity (12th percentile of 2,781 hospices on liquidity, FY22 pool). Operating margin declined from 4.6% in FY21 to -1.2% in FY23, though it rose 2.2 points in the most recent year. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 7.6%. It carries an average daily census of 137.
Average daily census
137
Reported value2023
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2023
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY23
-1.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 2.2 pts vs FY22
vs hospices53rd pctl of 3,634 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
50,978 days
Reported value2023
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984
Where TRINITY HEALTH AT sits among hospices
Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 3,634 of 3,933 filed
Each point is one hospice in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY23 median is -3.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One hospiceTRINITY HEALTHhospice median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Operating margin
-1.2% (FY23)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+7.6% (FY23)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
1d (FY22)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
13.78× (FY23)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
7% (FY23)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
39d (FY23)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY21
FY22
FY23
Patient revenue
9,068
8,962
9,100
Total operating revenue
9,068
8,962
9,100
Total operating expenses
8,652
9,266
9,206
Operating income
416
(304)
(106)
Operating margin %
+4.6%
-3.4%
-1.2%
Other non-operating, net
914
921
865
Net income
1,330
617
759
Net income %
+13.3%
+6.3%
+7.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY21–FY23 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2023
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
137
Reported value2023
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.5%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.2%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.3%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
50,978 days
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
CAHPS family caregiver rating (1–5 stars)
3
Reported value2023
CMS Hospice CAHPS
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 3 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospice serves
Wayne County, MI · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$59.5K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
20.1%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
5.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
16.1%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
24.3%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 13.5% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 27.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 3,634.
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 12 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world in 35+ board-ready pages, every measure benchmarked against its same-year peers.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.