Astrelis
Hospice · Joliet, IL

LIGHTWAYS HOSPICE AND SERIOUS ILLNESS CARE

CCN 141539Will CountyLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in Joliet, IL. It ran an operating loss of 17.6% in FY25 on $37.8M of operating revenue. It held 71 days of cash on hand. Operating margin declined from -1.6% in FY20 to -17.6% in FY25, though it rose 1.8 points in the most recent year. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 21.8%. It carries an average daily census of 402.

Average daily census
402
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY25
-17.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
1.8 pts vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total days of care
181,499 days
Reported value2025
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-17.6% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+21.8% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
71d (FY25)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
3.34× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
6% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
62d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue32,63034,35037,816
Total operating revenue32,63034,35037,816
Total operating expenses39,18041,03944,478
Operating income(6,550)(6,689)(6,662)
Operating margin %-20.1%-19.5%-17.6%
Other non-operating, net12,86313,69219,091
Net income6,3137,00312,429
Net income %+13.9%+14.6%+21.8%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
402
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
97.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
1.8%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.8%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
181,499 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
CAHPS family caregiver rating (1–5 stars)
4
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice CAHPS

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
-1.6%-6.1%-37.5%-20.1%-19.5%-17.6%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
134 days124 days117 days137 days92 days71 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospice serves

Will County, IL · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$107.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
7.0%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
5.3%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
14.1%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
17.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 4.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 13.5% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin (as filed)FY25Astrelis calculation

-17.6% operating margin in FY25.

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 1.8 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 12 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc