Astrelis
Hospice · Oak Lawn, IL

OSF HOSPICE

CCN 141511Cook CountyLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in Oak Lawn, IL. It ran an operating loss of 973.9% in FY25 on $1.8M of operating revenue. It held -2,126 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool. 5 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited. It carries an average daily census of 16.

Average daily census
16
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
8
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY25
-973.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total days of care
7,297 days
Reported value2025
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-973.9% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-967.9% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
-2126d (FY25)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue1,6891,5921,768
Total operating revenue1,6891,5921,768
Total operating expenses12,26517,09118,988
Operating income(10,576)(15,499)(17,219)
Operating margin %-626.3%-973.6%-973.9%
Other non-operating, net1199
Net income(10,565)(15,490)(17,210)
Net income %-621.4%-967.6%-967.9%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Display states. FY25 · Operating margin: -973.8% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY25 · Total margin: -967.9% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY24 · Operating margin: -973.6% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY24 · Total margin: -967.6% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY23 · Operating margin: -626.3% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY23 · Total margin: -621.4% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY22 · Operating margin: -1410.4% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY22 · Total margin: -1383.1% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY21 · Operating margin: -928.6% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY21 · Total margin: -705.2% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY22 · Days cash on hand: -1,436 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY23 · Days cash on hand: -2,244 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY24 · Days cash on hand: -1,996 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY25 · Days cash on hand: -2,126 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
8
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
16
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.3%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
7,297 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
CAHPS family caregiver rating (1–5 stars)
5
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice CAHPS
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-928.6%-1410.5%-626.3%-973.6%-973.9%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
-1,436 days-2,244 days-1,996 days-2,126 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospice serves

Cook County, IL · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$81.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.3%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.0%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
15.5%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.2% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin (as filed)FY25Astrelis calculation

-973.8% operating margin in FY25.

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 12 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc