Astrelis
hospice · Parker, AZ

River Valley Hospice

CCN 031639Latest FY 2020
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in Parker, AZ. It ran an operating loss of 40.1% in FY20 on $1.6M of operating revenue. Only a single comparable reporting year is available, so trend context is limited. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 30.1%. It carries an average daily census of 16.

Average daily census
16
Reported value2020
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2020
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY20
-40.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs hospices13th pctl of 2,879 (FY20 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
10,119 days
Reported value2020
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where River Valley Hospice sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY20 pool · n = 2,879 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY20 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY20 median is -0.2%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -0.2%River Valley -40.1%-20%0%+20%hospice median -0.2%River Valley -40.1%
One hospiceRiver Valleyhospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-40.1% (FY20)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+30.1% (FY20)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
Not reported in source
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
26.12× (FY20) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
4% (FY20)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
106d (FY20)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY20
Patient revenue1,566
Total operating revenue1,566
Total operating expenses2,193
Operating income(627)
Operating margin %-40.1%
Other non-operating, net1,571
Net income944
Net income %+30.1%
1 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2020
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
16
Reported value2020
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.9%
Reported value2020
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2020
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.1%
Reported value2020
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.1%
Reported value2020
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
10,119 days
Reported value2020
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · single reporting year
Operating margin
-40.1%FY20
Days cash on hand
Not available

State context

Parker, AZ
Located in Parker, AZ. County-level statistics: linkage not established— this record's county mapping is not verified in the resolved spine, and we never place a facility in a county by guesswork. State-level context appears here once a state aggregate layer lands.
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY20Astrelis calculation

-40.1% operating margin — 13th percentile of 2,879 peers (FY20 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY20 pool · n = 2,879.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 10 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc