Astrelis
Home health agency · Oak Harbor, OH

GUIDING HANDS HOME HEALTH SERVICES, INC

CCN 368427Ottawa CountyPROPRIETARYLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A home health agency in Oak Harbor, OH. It ran an operating loss of 35.5% in FY24 on $0.4M of operating revenue. It held 42 days of cash on hand (63rd percentile of 5,525 home health agencies on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from -9.3% in FY20 to -35.5% in FY24, though it rose 17.7 points in the most recent year. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 5.6%. On care, it carries a 2.5-star CMS quality rating. Its within-stay preventable hospitalization runs 10.3%. On the filed record it is running at an operating loss with lower measured quality. Source-reported context, not a recommendation.

Quality of patient care star (1–5)
2.5
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare
Days cash on hand · FY24
42d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
28 days vs FY23
vs home health agencies63rd pctl of 5,525 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Operating margin · FY24
-35.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
17.7 pts vs FY23
vs home health agencies9th pctl of 6,659 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
10.3%
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare

Where GUIDING HANDS HOME sits among home health agencies

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 6,659 of 7,624 filed

Each point is one home health agency in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The home health agency FY24 median is +3.5%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%home health agency median +3.5%GUIDING HANDS -35.5%-20%0%+20%home health agency median +3.5%GUIDING HANDS -35.5%
One home health agencyGUIDING HANDShome health agency median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this home health agency is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-35.5% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+5.6% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
42d (FY24)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Not reported in source
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
5% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Not reported in source
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue605362367
Total operating revenue605362367
Total operating expenses526554497
Operating income80(192)(130)
Operating margin %+13.1%-53.2%-35.5%
Other non-operating, net0256160
Net income806430
Net income %+13.1%+10.3%+5.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1728 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · operating revenue reflects net patient service revenue · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this home health agency type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Quality of patient care star (1–5)
2.5
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Timely initiation of care
96.1%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Improvement in ambulation
75.2%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Improvement in dyspnea
74.8%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
10.3%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Discharge to community
65.7%
Reported value2024
CMS HHVBP
Rated care 9–10 (% of patients)
96.0%
Reported value2026
CMS HHCAHPS
ZIP codes served
9
Reported value2026
CMS HH PUF
Total visits
4,558
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728
Total episodes
173
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728
Visits per episode
26.30
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total visits ÷ total episodes, both reported above (HCRIS CMS-1728)
Unduplicated patients
192
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728
Cost per visit ($)
108.98
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728
Medicare revenue share
77.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-9.3%+21.8%+13.1%-53.2%-35.5%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
71 days39 days93 days70 days42 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this home health agency serves

Ottawa County, OH · metro, under 250K
Median household income
$75.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
8.4%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
4.3%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
27.0%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
16.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 11.0% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 24.5% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-35.5% operating margin — 9th percentile of 6,659 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 17.7 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 6,659.

Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 14 of 14 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Home Health Performance Benchmark

Utilization-pattern and cost benchmarks against matched peers. Directional screens; public data cannot fully control for acuity.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc