A home health agency in Elizabeth City, NC. It ran an operating loss of 28.1% in FY24 on $3.3M of operating revenue. It held 8,589 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool (96th percentile of 5,525 home health agencies on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from 2.4% in FY20 to -28.1% in FY24, though it rose 3.8 points in the most recent year. On care, it carries a 3.5-star CMS quality rating and 5-star patient experience. Its within-stay preventable hospitalization runs 6.9%. On the filed record it is running at an operating loss with mid-range measured quality. Source-reported context, not a recommendation.
Quality of patient care star (1–5)
3.5★
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare
HHCAHPS patient-survey star (1–5)
5★
Reported value2026
Source: CMS HHCAHPS
Operating margin · FY24
-28.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 3.8 pts vs FY23
vs home health agencies12th pctl of 6,659 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
6.9%
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare
Where SENTARA HOME CARE sits among home health agencies
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 6,659 of 7,624 filed
Each point is one home health agency in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The home health agency FY24 median is +3.5%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One home health agencySENTARA HOMEhome health agency median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this home health agency is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Operating margin
-28.1% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-28.1% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
8589d (FY24)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Not reported in source
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
43% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Not reported in source
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
3,636
3,250
3,256
Total operating revenue
3,636
3,250
3,256
Total operating expenses
3,889
4,283
4,170
Operating income
(254)
(1,033)
(913)
Operating margin %
-7.0%
-31.8%
-28.1%
Net income
(254)
(1,033)
(913)
Net income %
-7.0%
-31.8%
-28.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1728 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · operating revenue reflects net patient service revenue · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Display states.FY20 · Days cash on hand: 3,975 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY21 · Days cash on hand: 4,179 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY22 · Days cash on hand: 2,762 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY23 · Days cash on hand: 4,674 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY24 · Days cash on hand: 8,589 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
The metrics this home health agency type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Quality of patient care star (1–5)
3.5★
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
HHCAHPS patient-survey star (1–5)
5★
Reported value2026
CMS HHCAHPS
Timely initiation of care
98.4%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Improvement in ambulation
87.3%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Improvement in dyspnea
89.8%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
6.9%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Discharge to community
79.7%
Reported value2024
CMS HHVBP
Rated care 9–10 (% of patients)
89.0%
Reported value2026
CMS HHCAHPS
ZIP codes served
29
Reported value2026
CMS HH PUF
Total visits
14,329
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728
Total episodes
947
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728
Visits per episode
15.10
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total visits ÷ total episodes, both reported above (HCRIS CMS-1728)
Unduplicated patients
1,215
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728
Cost per visit ($)
290.99
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728
Medicare revenue share
50.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1728
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this home health agency serves
Pasquotank County, NC · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$63.9K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
10.0%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
18.1%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
20.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 11.5% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 28.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 6,659.
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 14 of 14 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world in 35+ board-ready pages, every measure benchmarked against its same-year peers.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.