Astrelis
Home health agency · Houlton, ME

MADIGAN HOME HEALTH CARE, INC.

CCN 207062Aroostook CountyPROPRIETARYLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY23. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY23. Days cash on hand is FY22, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A home health agency in Houlton, ME. It ran an operating loss of 105.0% in FY23 on $0.3M of operating revenue. It held 1 day of cash on hand in FY22, its most recent reported liquidity (14th percentile of 5,716 home health agencies on liquidity, FY22 pool). 4 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited. On care, it carries a 3.5-star CMS quality rating. Its within-stay preventable hospitalization runs 8.5%. On the filed record it is running at an operating loss with mid-range measured quality. Source-reported context, not a recommendation.

Quality of patient care star (1–5)
3.5
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare
Days cash on hand · FY22
1d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs home health agencies14th pctl of 5,716 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Operating margin · FY23
-105.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs home health agencies4th pctl of 6,828 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
8.5%
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare

Where MADIGAN HOME HEALTH sits among home health agencies

Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 6,828 of 7,624 filed

Each point is one home health agency in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The home health agency FY23 median is +3.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%home health agency median +3.1%MADIGAN HOME -105.0%-20%0%+20%home health agency median +3.1%MADIGAN HOME -105.0%
One home health agencyMADIGAN HOMEhome health agency median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this home health agency is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-105.0% (FY23)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-105.0% (FY23)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
1d (FY22)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Not reported in source
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
70% (FY23)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Not reported in source
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY21FY22FY23
Patient revenue603411259
Total operating revenue603411259
Total operating expenses959749531
Operating income(356)(338)(272)
Operating margin %-59.0%-82.2%-105.0%
Other non-operating, net1,65140
Net income1,295(334)(272)
Net income %+57.5%-80.4%-105.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1728 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · operating revenue reflects net patient service revenue · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Display states. FY23 · Operating margin: -105.0% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY23 · Total margin: -105.0% Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY24 · Filed figures Not reported in source (a cost report exists for this year but none of its mapped statement values were reported)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this home health agency type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Quality of patient care star (1–5)
3.5
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Timely initiation of care
97.6%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Improvement in ambulation
96.0%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Improvement in dyspnea
90.2%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
8.5%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Discharge to community
87.4%
Reported value2024
CMS HHVBP
Rated care 9–10 (% of patients)
100.0%
Reported value2026
CMS HHCAHPS
ZIP codes served
1
Reported value2026
CMS HH PUF
Visits / episodes
656
Reported value2023
CMS HH PUF

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-69.7%-59.0%-82.2%-105.0%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
11 days27 days1 dayFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this home health agency serves

Aroostook County, ME
Median household income
$54.3K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
14.4%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
8.0%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
25.4%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
23.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 16.9% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 35.7% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation

-105.0% operating margin — 4th percentile of 6,828 peers (FY23 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 6,828.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 13 of 14 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Home Health Performance Benchmark

Utilization-pattern and cost benchmarks against matched peers. Directional screens; public data cannot fully control for acuity.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc