A hospital in TN. It ran an operating surplus of 25.0% in FY23 on $7.9M of operating revenue. It held 0 days of cash on hand (7th percentile of 1,319 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY23 pool). Operating margin declined from 34.2% in FY21 to 25.0% in FY23.
Operating margin · FY23
+25.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 0.1 pts vs FY22
vs Critical Access Hospitals98th pctl of 1,330 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY23
0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▬ 0 days vs FY22
vs Critical Access Hospitals7th pctl of 1,319 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY23
$7.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ $3.4M vs FY22
vs Critical Access Hospitals6th pctl of 1,349 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY23
+25.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 0.1 pts vs FY22
vs Critical Access Hospitals97th pctl of 1,331 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at Critical Access Hospital · CCN 441311 is about $79K per year (1% of FY23 total operating revenue).
Where Critical Access Hospital sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 1,330 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY23 median is -3.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalCritical AccessCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY21
FY22
FY23
Patient revenue
11,944
11,285
7,921
Other operating revenue
(388)
25
—
Total operating revenue
11,557
11,310
7,921
Total operating expenses
7,602
8,487
5,939
Operating income
3,955
2,823
1,981
Operating margin %
+34.2%
+25.0%
+25.0%
Net income
3,955
2,823
1,981
Net income %
+34.2%
+25.0%
+25.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY23 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Outpatient share of patient revenue
100.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
As a Critical Access Hospital, this facility is exempt from most CMS public quality-measure programs. No public measures are reported for it. That is a program design fact, not a quality signal.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 3 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
State context
Tennessee
County-level statistics: linkage not established— this record's county mapping is not verified in the resolved spine, and we never place a facility in a county by guesswork. State-level context appears here once a state aggregate layer lands.
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to its county
Illustrative estimate · FY23 cost report
Direct annual spending
$5.9M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Employment
52
38 direct jobs (estimated from payroll) × 1.34 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$13.7M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.4%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 1,330.
CAH Performance Benchmark: FY23 peer pool · n = 1,330 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 5 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.