Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Springfield, OR

SACRED HEART MEDICAL CENTER - RIVERBEND

CCN 380102LANE CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateUrban (USDA RUCC)270 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Springfield, OR. It ran an operating loss of 2.3% in FY25 on $1025.1M of operating revenue. Days cash on hand is an Astrelis calculation unavailable for its latest year (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year). Operating margin declined from 1.4% in FY21 to -2.3% in FY25.

Operating margin · FY25
-2.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
0.6 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals38th pctl of 1,475 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand
Astrelis calculation unavailable
all sources
Total operating revenue · FY25
$1.03B
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$95.9M vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals88th pctl of 1,503 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-3.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
0.4 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals19th pctl of 1,476 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at SACRED HEART MEDICAL CENTER - RIVERBEND is about $10.3M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where SACRED HEART MEDICAL sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 1,475 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY25 median is +1.3%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%SACRED HEART -2.3%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%SACRED HEART -2.3%
One urban pps hospitalSACRED HEARTUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-2.3% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-3.2% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
Not reported in source
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Not reported in source
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Not reported in source
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Not reported in source
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue860,669944,9071,025,085
Other operating revenue600(15,717)49
Total operating revenue861,269929,1901,025,134
Total operating expenses879,016945,5861,049,078
Operating income(17,746)(16,396)(23,944)
Operating margin %-2.1%-1.8%-2.3%
Grants & contributions1,7332,5813,727
Investment income5318831,158
Other non-operating, net(4,419)(12,723)(13,649)
Net income(19,901)(25,655)(32,708)
Net income %-2.3%-2.8%-3.2%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Balance sheet: Not reported in source — the public cost report does not carry substantive balance-sheet detail (assets, liabilities, and net assets that reconcile) for this hospital. The income statement and ratio exhibit above are the reliable financial view here. We lead with those rather than render a hollow table.
Display states. FY25 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY24 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY23 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY22 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY21 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 270-bed hospital running at 85% occupancy, where 44% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
85.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
230.16
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
270
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
24,884
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$12,522
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$42,159
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
43.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
2,652
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
21.2%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.498
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
12.8%
Better Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
0.89
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.661429
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+1.4%-6.6%-2.1%-1.8%-2.3%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
Not available

The county this hospital serves

LANE County, OR
Median household income
$69.3K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
15.3%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
5.9%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
20.5%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.3%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 11.1% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 24.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Lane County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$1.05B
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$417.0M
$350.4M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$2.41B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
1.7%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

-2.3% operating margin — 38th percentile of 1,475 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 0.6 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

3.6 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $36.9M less operating income than the median rate.

(-2.3% facility vs 1.3% peer median) = 3.6 points below the median × $1025.1M revenue ≈ $36.9M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 1,475.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 1,475 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 13 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc