Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (other - provider status change). No successor CCN is recorded. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read
A hospital in Oshkosh, NE. It ran an operating loss of 41.4% in FY25 on $7.8M of operating revenue. It held 12 days of cash on hand (20th percentile of 822 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). 6 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.
Operating margin · FY25
-41.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals4th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
12d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals20th pctl of 822 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$7.8M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals3rd pctl of 833 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-41.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals0th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at GARDEN COUNTY HEALTH SERVICES is about $78K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
Where GARDEN COUNTY HEALTH sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 824 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY25 median is -0.2%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalGARDEN COUNTYCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
10,581
3,055
7,180
Other operating revenue
420
302
628
Total operating revenue
11,001
3,357
7,808
Total operating expenses
11,262
5,533
11,043
Operating income
(261)
(2,176)
(3,234)
Operating margin %
-2.4%
-64.8%
-41.4%
Investment income
12
4
6
Other non-operating, net
1
0
0
Net income
(248)
(2,172)
(3,228)
Net income %
-2.3%
-64.6%
-41.3%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 10-bed hospital running at 3% occupancy, where swing beds are 63% of the inpatient business, and 70% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
3.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
0.34
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
10
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
34
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$88,341
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$324,782
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
0.59
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
63.1%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
69.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$0.7M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are not available for this reporting period.Note 2: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
GARDEN County, NE
Median household income
$44.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
14.1%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.2%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
31.9%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
20.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 14.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 32.0% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Garden County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$11.0M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$25.4M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs
-66.2% — 6th percentile of 171 matched CAH peers (FY24).
The Board Briefing
What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.
Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
The record's final filed years, benchmarked against the peer pools of their own era and labeled so on every exhibit.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.