Astrelis
Rural PPS hospital · North Platte, NE

GREAT PLAINS HEALTH

CCN 280065Lincoln CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateRural (USDA RUCC)64 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in North Platte, NE. It ran an operating surplus of 3.8% in FY23 on $290.6M of operating revenue. It held 60 days of cash on hand (60th percentile of 390 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY23 pool). Operating margin declined from 6.5% in FY20 to 3.8% in FY23.

Operating margin · FY23
+3.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
0.9 pts vs FY22
vs Rural PPS hospitals74th pctl of 391 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY23
60d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
30 days vs FY22
vs Rural PPS hospitals60th pctl of 390 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY23
$290.6M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$19.7M vs FY22
vs Rural PPS hospitals92nd pctl of 396 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY23
+16.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
24.0 pts vs FY22
vs Rural PPS hospitals88th pctl of 391 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at GREAT PLAINS HEALTH is about $2.9M per year (1% of FY23 total operating revenue).

Where GREAT PLAINS HEALTH sits among Rural PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 391 of 410 filed

Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY23 median is -2.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -2.8%GREAT PLAINS +3.8%-20%0%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -2.8%GREAT PLAINS +3.8%
One rural pps hospitalGREAT PLAINSRural PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+3.8% (FY23)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+16.1% (FY23)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
60d (FY23)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
2.85× (FY23)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
76% (FY23)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
47d (FY23)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY21FY22FY23
Patient revenue263,406268,848287,745
Other operating revenue2,0672,0722,852
Total operating revenue265,472270,920290,598
Total operating expenses240,343258,368279,639
Operating income25,12912,55210,958
Operating margin %+9.5%+4.6%+3.8%
Investment income32,183(32,717)41,913
Other non-operating, net5,5021,359957
Net income62,814(18,806)53,828
Net income %+20.7%-7.9%+16.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY24 · Operating margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (net patient revenue was not reported (or is zero) on this filing)Filed inputs: Operating income -300,388KFY24 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
42.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
27.33
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
64
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
4,280
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
2 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$30,108
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$70,184
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Total FTEs
1,044
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
18.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$13.1M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
1.133
No Different than National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
0.97
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.818131
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+6.5%+9.5%+4.6%+3.8%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
196 days110 days90 days60 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

LINCOLN County, NE · nonmetro, urban 20K+
Median household income
$64.3K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
12.8%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
7.8%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
20.5%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
17.2%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 9.0% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 22.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Lincoln County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$300.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$149.2M
$125.4M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$690.9M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
7.1%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation

3.8% operating margin — 74th percentile of 391 peers (FY23 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 0.9 points vs FY22 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

6.6 points above the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $19.2M more operating income than the median rate.

(3.8% facility vs -2.8% peer median) = 6.6 points above the median × $290.6M revenue ≈ $19.2M more operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 391.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY23 peer pool · n = 391 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Rural PPS Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc