Financial anchor year: FY24. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY24. Days cash on hand is FY21, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read
A hospital in Opelousas, LA. It ran an operating surplus of 15.8% in FY24 on $7.2M of operating revenue. It held 0 days of cash on hand in FY21, its most recent reported liquidity (47th percentile of 398 Psychiatric hospitals on liquidity, FY21 pool). Operating margin improved from 1.0% in FY20 to 15.8% in FY24, though it fell 1.2 points in the most recent year. These figures come from filings spanning FY21–FY24: read each by its own year rather than as one current picture.
Operating margin · FY24
+15.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 1.2 pts vs FY23
vs Psychiatric hospitals72nd pctl of 437 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY21
0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals47th pctl of 398 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$7.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ $0.1M vs FY23
vs Psychiatric hospitals14th pctl of 509 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+15.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 1.2 pts vs FY23
vs Psychiatric hospitals69th pctl of 434 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at OCEANS BEHAVIORAL HOSPITAL OF OPELOUSAS is about $72K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where OCEANS BEHAVIORAL HOSPITAL sits among Psychiatric hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 437 of 601 filed
Each point is one Psychiatric hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Psychiatric hospital FY24 median is +4.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One psychiatric hospitalOCEANS BEHAVIORALPsychiatric hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
6,601
7,264
7,184
Other operating revenue
1
3
15
Total operating revenue
6,602
7,267
7,199
Total operating expenses
5,825
6,033
6,061
Operating income
777
1,234
1,138
Operating margin %
+11.8%
+17.0%
+15.8%
Other non-operating, net
0
0
0
Net income
777
1,234
1,138
Net income %
+11.8%
+17.0%
+15.8%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY24 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY23 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY22 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY20 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 20-bed psychiatric hospital running at 81% occupancy, where the average stay runs 8.0 days, and operating cost runs $1,026 per patient day.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
80.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
16.18
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
20
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
735
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
8 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$1,026
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$8,246
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
30.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
ST. LANDRY County, LA · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$45.6K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
24.0%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
7.2%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
16.6%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
30.5%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 19.1% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 36.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to St. Landry County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$6.1M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$13.9M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 437.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 437 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 12 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.